Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Attenuation and noise margin

    This is a discussion on Attenuation and noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by simonmpoulton Mobile broadband is the worst form of broadband you can get! I'd go so far as ...

    1. #11
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Attenuation and noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      Mobile broadband is the worst form of broadband you can get! I'd go so far as to say dial-up is more reliable/stable.
      It would depend on coverage in your area. When we moved premises BT managed to balls up the line provision so we were on a 3G connection for a week, apart from peak time drop outs it worked fine, speed was much better than dial up!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Attenuation and noise margin

      I tried 3, T-Mobile and O2 in Manchester and at all times it was dropping the connection or just going incredibly slowly. (I had visible LoS to the T-mobile mast as well) Was not in my opinion usable

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #13
      markmunk's Avatar
      markmunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: manchester east
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation and noise margin

      Three engineer visits and several hours of calls to CST later it seems the router is causing problems. Today an engineer again replaced our master socket, although this time he also replaced some internal wiring and moved the socket (there was a weird wiring loop which he said wasn't necessary.)

      His gear connected at over 2mbps, while the router was struggling to get higher than 0.3mbps. He said the line was fine and should support 2 to 2.5, possibly higher and that the router was likely duff.

      I've since spoke to sky who instantly told me the router was fine and are calling back tomorrow to reconfigure the line. I'll try to get a replacement router, as I know for 100% certainty that it's causing our issues now through means which are best not mentioned!

      Suffice to say I've had an overall positive experience with Sky, they've tried their best to help and have sent three engineers out now. I'm sure once the router is replaced we'll be receiving the speeds our line length really supports, rather than 0.3mbps.

      Thanks to everyone who has replied here, it's nice to have such a helpful community to pose questions too.

    5. #14
      markmunk's Avatar
      markmunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: manchester east
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation and noise margin

      This is the speed I get using a friends Netgear:



      It's been stable at that speed all night long.

      I can't post the speed I get using my Sagem because it won't even sync anymore, but it's generally around 0.3 to 0.5 (if lucky!) mbps.

    6. #15
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Attenuation and noise margin

      Well as the BT engineer said it's a duff router
      I cant actually believe the muppet you were talking to in the call centre tryed to argue the point, i'm sure a broadband engineer knows a damn bit more about these things than they do.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #16
      markmunk's Avatar
      markmunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: manchester east
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation and noise margin

      Indeed

      Now all I need to do is stop them trying to reconfigure the line for a duff router and get them to send me a new one. I wish they'd let customers use their own gear, I've a perfectly good DLink router sat doing nothing, which hypothetically speaking () would connect just fine.

      Hopefully they'll be in a receptive mood when they call back this morning. The logic is undeniable, everything else has been tested and certified, the only remaining weak link is the router - which I know for sure causes the problem.

      I'm not sure I can tell sky I've tested it with someone elses router (and definitely not the 'hypothetical' DLink!)

    8. #17
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Attenuation and noise margin

      You can tell sky your friend also has sky and you tried his router and it worked fine
      They wont have a problem with that as its still essentially a sky router!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION