Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    ADSL Faceplate filter help

    This is a discussion on ADSL Faceplate filter help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey I bought a filter faceplate, so I dont have to worry about using microfilters that keep breaking. I have ...

    1. #1
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL Faceplate filter help

      Hey

      I bought a filter faceplate, so I dont have to worry about using microfilters that keep breaking.

      I have a new set up, and took off the old faceplate, and 1 the master test socket does not work, but whatever.

      And on the back I have a orange wire and a white wire connected to 2 screws, and thats it, no other wires attached.

      How do I install this seperate filter if there are no numbers on the old one, to match to the new one.

      Thanks so much

      Oh it has,

      A B 2345... I think.. the new filter plate.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      Are you saying your test socket doesnt work?
      If that's the case then your wiring into the master socket is wrong and needs to be addressed before bothering to do anything else.
      You should have:
      Main Line Coming In to A+B terminals on back of NTE5->Filtered Faceplate->Extensions off the back of the faceplate.

    4. #3
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      What I have is:

      A big black wire that has multiple color wires, green and others, they are not connected to anything

      The only wires that are connected are a white one and orange one and they are attached to two screws.

      I kinda what to get rid of these micro filters, I really dont like them, I have had 5 in the last year from sky, which have all crapped out.

      Thanks

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      Did you have anything attached to the existing faceplate? If not then that isnt your master socket and you'll have to find out where the actual line comes in and goes off to the extensions. If the wiring is done like that it would explain why you've had so many filters go off on you. The line has to go through a master socket with ring capacitor and surge protection otherwise filters breaking are common.
      Could you provide a pictures of the inside of your master socket?

    6. #5
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      Yes, will do now and upload to photo bucket or something

      Cheers

    7. #6
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      OK

      One on the right is the new plate, the one on the right is my old one.

      Had a play around and the test socket is ok, but again, want to get rid of the mircofilter.

      So two wires, orange and white, were does it go into the new faceplate.

      Hope you can help. and sorry the pic might take a while to load up

      http://img269.imageshack.us/i/p1010193f.jpg/

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      A B 2345... I think.. the new filter plate.
      Unless you have extensions it is just a case of plugging the faceplate in. If you have extensions transfer the wires from the existing faceplate to the 2 and 5 terminals on the new plate. You should only have 2 wires connected to the screw terminals on the back of the plate. The black cable is probably your incoming wire.

      Remember you will only get ADSL from the ADSL port on the faceplate, the signal is filtered out of the phone connection.

      PS. Why not use the Forum server to upload your pics, that way they will stay on the forum and not disappear when they are deleted from imageshack or whatever 3rd party server you are using.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      The box on the left looks like the main box for the house.

      Fix this back on to the wall and LEAVE IT ALONE. This is the main line into the house. Ont eh side without the screws and wires is there a phone socket?

      Take your face plate on the right of the picture and push it onto the box that you have now fitted on to the wall. The phone plug on the right hand side box should fit into the left hand side.

      If you have no extensions the job is now done. You simply plug your router directly into the small ADSL socket and your phone and any other phone accessories into the phone socket.

      If you have wires coming out of a rectangular plate that you took off of the old box let us know and we can tell you how to wire them.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    10. #9
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      Can you please confirm whether or not you had anything connected to the terminals on the back of the old faceplate when you initially took it off?
      If not as I said previously that box isnt your main box as there should always be something wired to the old faceplate as you have extensions.
      Can you also check whether the other phone sockets are dead in your house when you dont have the faceplate on this master socket. If they are dead then it's a simple case of taking the faceplate off one of them and observing which colour goes into "2" and which one goes into "5" on the back of them and then wiring the corresponding colour into the respective "2" or "5" terminals on the back of the ADSL faceplate.

    11. #10
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter help

      It could still be the main box. A lot of people do not hard wire their extensions but simply plug them in to the front of the box and as they have an adaptor on them plug the phone in on top.

      Not the best way but a lot of people, including SKY installations, do this.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION