Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Pulling my hair out

    This is a discussion on Pulling my hair out within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, Bit of a long story so i will try top keep it short.For some reason my old Netgear ...

    1. #1
      richie001's Avatar
      richie001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Pulling my hair out

      Hi Guys,

      Bit of a long story so i will try top keep it short.For some reason my old Netgear router wouldn't Sync
      Problems with connection after power being turn off.

      After having to ring Sky,they told me that it's not a problem with the line but with the router and i need to buy a new one.I bought a new router directly from Sky(Sagem) set it up and I'm still having the same problem's with it not sync after being turned off and my ping has gone up from 28ms to 50ms and my Xbox has a moderate nat,When i set up my old Netgear router my ping are still 50ms and still doesn't sync properly but i do get a Open nat..

      System Up Time: 05:11:44
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 51732 88598 0 260 5620 05:08:16
      LAN 100M/Full 89699 83270 0 5688 506 05:11:39
      WLAN 11M/54M 28058 0 0 165 0 05:11:26
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4093 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50 db 29 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 21 db

      To be honest I'm thinking about Switching to Virgin

      Thanks for any help.
      Last edited by richie001; 14-06-10 at 07:28 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richie001's Avatar
      richie001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pulling my hair out

      Just a quick update.

      Tried the router in the test socket with no luck,changed the filters still no luck.

      These are my stats from the test socket using the Netgear router


      I'm kind of hoping you guys know the answer to my problem.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Pulling my hair out

      I think you should complain bitterly to Sky who have forced you to buy a new router which has not cured the problem. They should at least offer you your money back.

      Your stats show the router has been up and running for over a day and that you are capped. It is possible the failure to sync properly is the fault of the exchange equipment. If it is holding its sync once it is connected they will be reluctant to do anything about it.

      There is no real need to switch off your router, so if it is performing properly, call Sky and ask them to lift the cap on your connection. At the same time ask them to reduce your Max Delay as this may have been changed when the settings were changed. If the connection starts dropping then you can take it further.

      I would definitely try to get a refund for the pointless router replacement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      richie001's Avatar
      richie001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pulling my hair out

      Thanks for the advice.I will ring Sky again and hopefully get this sorted.Just one question how to you know by looking at my stat that I'm being capped(I'm a Novice at this).

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Pulling my hair out

      If an out of warranty router is bought and it doesn't solve the issue, get back onto sky and they'll refund the 28. How to tell you're capped is by looking at the noise margin - sky's default target is 7db; the higher the figure, then the more speed can theoretically be pushed out.

    7. #6
      richie001's Avatar
      richie001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pulling my hair out

      Hi,quick update.

      Been on the phone to Sky for about a hour today to finally sort out some of the problem's I've been having with my connection.I don't mean to be disrespectful but it was nice to speak to people from the UK.The first person i spoke to went though a few thing which didn't work and i was pass up to the next tier and after doing a line check it would seem that there is a problem at the exchange and BT have be informed.She even lowered my max delay's to 26

      What i don't understand is when i rung Sky the first time they did a line check and said it was the fine and it was the router at fault.

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Pulling my hair out

      The line 'check' that was done first was probably just a tone test or checking it was connected at the exchange by tier 1. The cat test would be what found the problem at the exchange by cst.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION