Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Broken Test Socket?

    This is a discussion on Broken Test Socket? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello I'm on DLM atm and my current speed is 10 mb. my attenuation is still low but i have ...

    1. #1
      Constantine's Avatar
      Constantine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broken Test Socket?

      Hello I'm on DLM atm and my current speed is 10 mb. my attenuation is still low but i have terrible noise margin so i dont expect any further improvement. I tried connecting the router to the test socked but there is no signal coming from it. There are another two normal sockets next to it that work perfectly. Looks like a sloppy job to me so i took a picture can you have a look?


      Here are my stats

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6414739 11985381 0 28295 0 47:12:02
      LAN 100253883 78490732 0 0 36062 560:15:23
      WLAN 486419 249062 0 0 0 560:14:56
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10236 kbps 902 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 13.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 8.0 db

      Thanks a lot


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      Are you sure that socket is actually live? Who are you with for line rental and have you had anyone else providing telephone line rental service in the past?

    4. #3
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      To me that looks as if the NTE5 has been wired as an extension and if it doesnt work its probably not plugged in at the other end. The NTE5 should be wired like this:
      Main Line Coming In --->NTE5--->Extensions wired off NTE5 faceplate
      You only have one cable going into that and no extensions coming off yet you have extensions so theres something wrong with the wiring there. I suggest you look for the actual master socket where the main line comes in and the extensions go out!
      If your house is an old build you may also find you have a brown terminal box with the main line coming in and then the sockets are all wired off that box.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      Do you have wires connected to the faceplate you removed?
      Do the other extensions work with the faceplate removed?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      Looks like another BT socket next to it, looks like someone has wired on an extension that doesn't know what they are doing. We had the same here, previous owners screwed up the telephone wiring a bit with DIY and I had to re-wire the master to get the ADSL noise margin as good as we could get it on our old wiring.

    7. #6
      Constantine's Avatar
      Constantine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Do you have wires connected to the faceplate you removed?
      Do the other extensions work with the faceplate removed?
      No there are no wires connected to the faceplate and other extensions work fine when its removed.

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      Then that isn't your main socket and the test socket is useless.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      You really need to check your wiring and find the first box on the line after it enters the house. As mentioned you may find that it is a junction box with the extensions wired into it, which is never a good thing for broadband. It looks like someone has made an attempt to fit an NTE5 master socket and have given up. Seeif you can find the other end of the black cable going into the box, it may terminate somewhere near the main junction box. Also have a look in your extensions and see if there is one containing a capacitor and other bit'n'pieces. Photos of the inside of any boxes you find, showing the cables in them, are always useful.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Constantine's Avatar
      Constantine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      all right here is a picture of the two sockets next to the test one. there is one more in one of the bedrooms and that's where the modem is plugged in.


    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broken Test Socket?

      Well that explains the issues then. First socket on the right is your true main socket.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION