Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 47

    Sky change over.

    This is a discussion on Sky change over. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Wanting to change to sky unlimited, from bt which runs out on 12th june. Is it too late for me ...

    1. #1
      cub's Avatar
      cub
      cub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky change over.

      Wanting to change to sky unlimited, from bt which runs out on 12th june.
      Is it too late for me to order for this month?
      Will I cause complications leaving it late?
      Many thanks.

      Just to add.
      I enquired about this a few weeks back, and spoke to a nice irish chap. Who informed me I should get much higher speeds as I am still using the homehub v1.
      Broadband connection details:
      Downstream 3,744 Kbps
      Upstream 448 Kbps
      Connection time 4 days, 16:14:03

      560m from exchange.

      I have skytalk so should get it for 7.50 as well, much better than 22.50.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      If you still pay your line rental to BT then as far as I know you dont get the cheap offer. You have to have the sky talk line rental to get the broadband price reduced from what i've seen.
      You just have to get your MAC code off BT on the 12th and give SKY the code asking to migrate to SKY unlimited. As for leaving it late you have no problems leaving it (I presume you havent cancelled) as the contract term is just the minimum time you have to stay with them once that runs out your broadband doesnt go off you continue paying for it and receiving it until you cancel or migrate away.

    4. #3
      cub's Avatar
      cub
      cub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      I have the sky order page open in another tab at the moment. It offers me 7.50 for broadband?
      Also is it easier to order online or phone?
      Will it ask me what email address that I want etc?
      And no I haven't cancelled, as the chap on the phone said they would arrange eveything for me.
      Thanks again!

      Suppose I should ask as well, are they quick sending out the equipment. Couldn't bare to be without me internet!
      Last edited by cub; 09-06-10 at 07:25 PM.

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      Order over the phone seems to go through more quickly that way. The e-mail address will be whatever you signed up to on my sky with @sky.com added.
      If it offers you 7.50 then good luck if you've got your line with BT's line rental.

      I received my router about 3 days before the activation date so you shouldnt have issues there!

    6. #5
      cub's Avatar
      cub
      cub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      Just phoned.
      Again another nice chap. Ordered for 7.50. Setup email and equipment being sent through as a priorty. Should get the fastest speed possible 20MB!
      What more can you ask for?
      Service far better than from bt!
      Thanks for the advice.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      Just a small point, if you are only getting 3,744 Kbps at the moment then something is wrong with your set up. If you are 560m from the exchange you should be getting the maximum available, which would be 8000+kbps. This suggests you are loosing speed through your internal wiring or there is a fault on your line. If you have one, plug into your test socket and check your sync speed from there.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      I don't have Sky phone rental but have Sky Talk Unlimited and get the full discount. I believe you qualify even if you have the free Sky Talk. Many of us recommend keeping your rental with BT as it causes less problems if you want to leave. In addition some have had problems with the new Sky Voice and Broadband Network, which you are put on automatically when you take Sky Phone Rental on an LLU connection. You did check you were going on an LLU connection and not Connect?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      cub's Avatar
      cub
      cub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      He asked me if I wanted Connect or Unlimited. I chose Unlimited 7.50 a month, and he said no cap on downloads. So should be fine?
      Keeping line rental with Bt, and yes I have extra internal wiring which I need to get rid off. 2 extensions around the house not being used!

    9. #8
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      cub
      Hi you have checked your exchange to make sure you have Sky LLU at your exchange here`s a link SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Exchange Search The connect package is Traffic Managed from 5pm till Midnight so make sure it is Sky
      Unlimited and not the connect package

    10. #9
      cub's Avatar
      cub
      cub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      Yep its LLU enabled, and has had Sky / Easynet since 2007.
      Got my MAC code from grumpy bt and entered it onto Sky site and says they intend to have it up and running by 18/06/10!
      Does it normally take so long?
      Really would like it by 12/06/10, so I don't have another 22.50 bt bill, because of end month with bt?
      Or will I just have no broadband inbetween???
      Thanks.

      Just to add bt said it was in Skys hands now, when the broadband would be switched over, not theirs?

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky change over.

      You only have to take sky talk freetime (it's free), not the line rental, to be eligible for the 5 discount on unlimited i.e. 7.50 per month.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION