Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Help with speed?

    This is a discussion on Help with speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; what it comes up for my mum...

    1. #11
      bigjohn's Avatar
      bigjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Location
      Fife
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      what it comes up for my mum
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Help with speed?-capture4.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      bigjohn
      Hi it could be that the line from the exchange goes to your mother connection and your line is going back to the exchange that would be the reason that your mothers DSL Max is 6.5MBs and yours is DSL Max is 2MBs

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help with speed?

      Are the results from your Test socket exactly the same in all respects? This would be unusual if you have more than one phone point.

      As you road distance to the exchange is the same as your mothers, it is a bit odd that there is so much difference in speed. The road distance is usually a good indication of the line length. Any noise on your voice line?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      bigjohn's Avatar
      bigjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Location
      Fife
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with speed?

      2 secs and i will furnish you with a pic of my bt box thingumy

    6. #15
      bigjohn's Avatar
      bigjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Location
      Fife
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with speed?

      right the little thing on the right has 2 black wires going into it and the blue/white and white blue coming out that go into the next box. the thing that is plugged into it is an extension that leads to my router. i get the same speed from my extension point as i do this box in pic
      line is ok and quiet
      i need to dust aswell lol camera picks up more than i thought
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Help with speed?-capture5.jpg  

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help with speed?

      I may be wrong but the little box looks like it may be an RF filter. If it is and it is a not an RF3, it could have a bad effect on your broadband. Open the box up and see if there are any code numbers inside. Maybe Brian or Dave will pitch in with some help, they know more about these things than I do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      bigjohn's Avatar
      bigjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Location
      Fife
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with speed?

      no problem Isitme the box has always been there and i got 6.5mb with BT.
      have just spent forever on phone to sky speaking to a very wonderful chap i think was called liam. told me things to try and kept calling back unlike BT
      he has done several checks and has now passed it to BT so should hear from them in next 24 hours (fingers crossed)
      just checked speed again and router stats say 4189kbs but speedtest.net say just under 1mb now. lets hope it all gets sorted but i will keep you all posted on what happens.
      will take cover of white box see what it says and post back soon
      again thanx to all that are helping it is very much appreciated

    9. #18
      bigjohn's Avatar
      bigjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Location
      Fife
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with speed?

      hurrahhhhh i seem to have sorted it for now i hope, yippee!!
      after several more calls to sky (which were all very helpful unlike BT) and several trys at moving filters and equipment also going back to master socket all is well.
      was at 6.5mb this morning but now at 5.38mb but happy with that for now folks. it had dropped to 0.13mb yesterday (pish) faster using phone.
      seems it is the dodgy extension from the master socket that is causing the grief, so i am going to get a new master socket with the adsl socket thingumy built in and get it moved into the office so there will be no more extensions. this should solve all problems.
      am having to go back to wifi just now as not practical to have cables lying all over the place.
      again i would like to thank you all for your help and for being freindly.
      many thanx again John

    10. #19
      bigjohn's Avatar
      bigjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Location
      Fife
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with speed?

      sorry for additional post just want to check signature

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION