Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    Speed estimate?

    This is a discussion on Speed estimate? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; On phone to Sky as I type. Nice tier one lady says she can up the rate to around 17mbps. ...

    1. #21
      checkermoo's Avatar
      checkermoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed estimate?

      On phone to Sky as I type.

      Nice tier one lady says she can up the rate to around 17mbps. She's gone off to try another computer now as the once she's using can't do it

      Fingers crossed...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      checkermoo's Avatar
      checkermoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed estimate?

      Well, that was easy enough.

      Nice lady said I should now get 18.5mbps !

      I'll check it out when I get home tonight. If it's true, then I can't fault their customer service.

      Once again, many thanks to everyone for helping me though this. Great site !

      Cheers .

    4. #23
      checkermoo's Avatar
      checkermoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed estimate?

      Success !

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18582 kbps 1008 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.5 db 7.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 8.5 db

      Seems a massive drop when using wireless though. Getting about 13.5mbps with ethernet cable and 9.5 with wireless.

      Seems like a rather large difference ? Router is about 3 feet from PC :-(

    5. #24
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Speed estimate?

      Looks good. In regards to the wireless throughput issue, change the channel on the router to another channel and check if it's any better.

    6. #25
      checkermoo's Avatar
      checkermoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed estimate?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Looks good. In regards to the wireless throughput issue, change the channel on the router to another channel and check if it's any better.
      Thanks. Just tried 1 to 13 but not making much difference..

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed estimate?

      Download and use InSSider from the link below. This will show the Networks and channels in use in your area. Use a channel as far from those in use as possible. Wireless is never as good as ethernet and should be avoided whenever possible, even if it means using a Homeplug network.

      Change the Mode to 'g only' or '54g performance', depending on the router you have.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      checkermoo's Avatar
      checkermoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed estimate?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Download and use InSSider from the link below. This will show the Networks and channels in use in your area. Use a channel as far from those in use as possible. Wireless is never as good as ethernet and should be avoided whenever possible, even if it means using a Homeplug network.

      Change the Mode to 'g only' or '54g performance', depending on the router you have.
      Will do. Thanks !

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION