Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    How long does broadband upgrade take?

    This is a discussion on How long does broadband upgrade take? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, On the first of June I upgraded my broadband from Everyday to Unlimited. I just wondered if anyone ...

    1. #1
      stevie5tapes's Avatar
      stevie5tapes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brighouse
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Brighouse, West Yorkshire
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How long does broadband upgrade take?

      Hi all,

      On the first of June I upgraded my broadband from Everyday to Unlimited. I just wondered if anyone knows how long the process takes as i'm a little impatient! My speed hasnt increased yet and every time I log into the sky site to check the progress of my order it says to check in 24 hours time!

      Thanks all!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      davidmcd88's Avatar
      davidmcd88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01236
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      if your on non svbn, usually upto 72 hours. svbn is normally straight away.

      If your still on eveyday your best calling, sometimes the order can get "stuck"

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      Did you sort out the noise problems on your line? If you didn't you are not going to get much more speed. Post your current stats for an estimate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      Quote Originally Posted by stevie5tapes View Post
      Hi all,

      On the first of June I upgraded my broadband from Everyday to Unlimited. I just wondered if anyone knows how long the process takes as i'm a little impatient! My speed hasnt increased yet and every time I log into the sky site to check the progress of my order it says to check in 24 hours time!
      I am in the same boat as you, I upgraded to Unlimited from Everyday on 1st June and I have the same message as you on My Sky. I did call them on Friday but she said they were busy and this would go through in a day or so and someone else has said that they have been inundated with people doing this and it could take up to the end of July to complete. I also know of a third person who did this by phone on the same day and was done by the next day. I can't be arsed calling them again so I am going to drop them a email via their contact form.

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      From the lines I've upgraded, they upgrade immediately as soon as the order is confirmed. Whether the speed increases shortly after - that's down to how long DLM takes to kick in.

    7. #6
      stevie5tapes's Avatar
      stevie5tapes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brighouse
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Brighouse, West Yorkshire
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      I'll wait and see what happens then, might email them as will probably be on hold if I phone! As for noise on the line Itsme, my download speed was lowered from 10 meg to 8 meg. This sorted out the problem of my connection that kept dropping out. I figured for a extra 2.50 a month I might aswell upgrade as I would be exceeding my download limit on the lower package.

      Thanks for all your replies everyone!

    8. #7
      stevie5tapes's Avatar
      stevie5tapes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brighouse
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Brighouse, West Yorkshire
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      For Isitme, here are my stats at the momemt,

      NetGear DG834GT [Sky Firmware] V1-White


      System Up Time 03:09:32
      PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp Time
      WANPPPoA35762411180656334303:07:59
      LAN10M/100M23750213910189040603:09:29
      WLAN11M/54M19908167930154033503:09:22


      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed8188 kbps606 kbps
      Line Attenuation29.0 db15.1 db
      Noise Margin7.5 db19.0 db


      Thanks.

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      With those stats it won't speed up much, you need to look into what is causing the issue on your line.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      As Paul says, you are getting as much as your line can handle. Even though you are using a filtered faceplate, remove it and try the stats in the test socket, just in case the faceplate is faulty. Did you get the line noise problems sorted out? Noise on the voice line will nearly always impact on broadband performance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      stevie5tapes's Avatar
      stevie5tapes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brighouse
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Brighouse, West Yorkshire
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How long does broadband upgrade take?

      I tried the master socket back in January and they was no change in my download speed. The noise on the line went away when my download speed was decreased from 10 meg to 8 meg on the stats. I emailed Sky about my problems and that was when my download speed was reduced. The noise on the line dissapeared at the same time.

      Looking at my broadband unlimited order today it appears to have been cancelled, dont know why, I've emailed Sky and await a response.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION