Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Broadband cancellation

    This is a discussion on Broadband cancellation within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i currently have sky talk, and also line rental through sky, i also have b/b through sky as well, noticed ...

    1. #1
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Broadband cancellation

      i currently have sky talk, and also line rental through sky, i also have b/b through sky as well, noticed my speed has dropped from 3mbps, down to 750kbps, phoned sky who said that my line is fine no issues, could be my router( approx. 3 yrs old), they want to charge me 28 for a new one. My question is if i as to cancel my b/b through sky, can i goto another provider and still keep sky talk, and also pay sky for my line rental
      here are my stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 800 kbps 480 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 16.4 db 11.0 db
      Last edited by markm9; 28-05-10 at 09:39 PM. Reason: p.s. here are my statsADSL Link Downstream Upstream


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      I don't think so... because sky talk is part of a sky package and if you cancel I think Sky talk get taken with it and is replaced with BT, but im not sure so don't take my reply for a final answer

    4. #3
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      Quote Originally Posted by markm9 View Post
      i currently have sky talk, and also line rental through sky, i also have b/b through sky as well, noticed my speed has dropped from 3mbps, down to 750kbps, phoned sky who said that my line is fine no issues, could be my router( approx. 3 yrs old), they want to charge me 28 for a new one. My question is if i as to cancel my b/b through sky, can i goto another provider and still keep sky talk, and also pay sky for my line rental
      here are my stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 800 kbps 480 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 16.4 db 11.0 db
      mate you line is highly capped, dont buy a new router. i would personally be very annoyed if somebody told me i could buy a 28 router when they have actually capped my line speed. you SNR is double the target for the downstream, you need to redial and get somebody who understands the problem and can reconfigure your line or can get somebody else to do it. if you have no luck then ask to speak to CST or a supervisor. what is the world coming to, tier 1 shouldnt be replacing routers for speed issues anyway and i would like to hope it wasnt CST you were speaking to

    5. #4
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      Thanks, for the reply, i dont understand why they would(sky) cap my line, what is this, and i have just rang sky for mac code, going to 02

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      They must have seen an issue on the line at some point, capped it and failed to remove the cap, any decent tier 1 will get your through to CST to have it removed again.

    7. #6
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      the line can be capped if the router is experiencing alot of disconnections or alot of CRC errors are building up, for this reason you should try and repost your stats from the test socket(details in my signature). it will also be alot easier to get sky to recongifure your line if you call them in the test socket. your stats show however that even at the current location you can get a significantly better speed. you dont have to use you mac code, i would definately call sky again and try and get through to somebody who can see the problem.

    8. #7
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      thanks for all your help, spoke to sky again who have said my line isnt capped, problem is with my router, still want to charge me 28, cancelled both my b/band also line rental, also sky talk, gone over to O2.

    9. #8
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      Quote Originally Posted by markm9 View Post
      thanks for all your help, spoke to sky again who have said my line isnt capped, problem is with my router, still want to charge me 28, cancelled both my b/band also line rental, also sky talk, gone over to O2.
      in that case i dont blame you mate, sky are talking rubbish. you are capped, the evidence is in your stats! good luck with 02, i have heard good things

    10. #9
      skyhawk's Avatar
      skyhawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bermondsey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      Have you obtained your MAC key already?
      Were you on Sky's own network? (SVBN)

      I would monitor the migration process very closely, as Sky made a right mess with my migration....half of them havent a clue!

    11. #10
      Mr Spouse's Avatar
      Mr Spouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Broadband cancellation

      Quote Originally Posted by markm9 View Post
      thanks for all your help, spoke to sky again who have said my line isnt capped, problem is with my router, still want to charge me 28, cancelled both my b/band also line rental, also sky talk, gone over to O2.
      Are you moving your phone service as well? Let's hope BT don't charge you 125 to take over the line!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION