Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Broadband Speed suggestions

    This is a discussion on Broadband Speed suggestions within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All Have had Sky Broadband for about 3 years now and never had over 5 MB connection with approximately ...

    1. #1
      Roguefox77's Avatar
      Roguefox77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Speed suggestions

      Hi All

      Have had Sky Broadband for about 3 years now and never had over 5 MB connection with approximately 1.5 miles to exchange.

      Can anybody interpret these stats as to whether the line stats are accurate or could I get a little more out. Paying for Up to 20MB but obviously no where near it.

      Any help would be appreciated.

      Thanks

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5024 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.5 db 31.8 db
      Noise Margin 11.3 db 16.5 db

      Rogue


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed suggestions

      You should be able to get anothre mb maybe 2mb if your lucky. You should also double your upload speed.

      Ring Sky and ask them to manually configure it for you.

    4. #3
      Roguefox77's Avatar
      Roguefox77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed suggestions

      Smithy, how do I exactly approach it with them? Is it as easy as asking them to put me on the maximum speed? or do I have to suggest a specific change?

      Thanks for your help as always

    5. #4
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed suggestions

      your best posting your stats in your Test Socket as well and calling sky whilst in the test socket. it will be easy then, just say your directly in the test socket and need to get the line reconfigured by CST or a tier 1 lama user(if tier 1 then remind them to adjust upload speed)

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed suggestions

      Do as Misfit says, just run through the slow speed checks saying that you are in the test socket and then ask for the line to be manually configured as you see by the noise margin you should be getting a little more.

    7. #6
      Roguefox77's Avatar
      Roguefox77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed suggestions

      These are the stats from the Test Socket. Any thoughts?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5024 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 15.5 db

    8. #7
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed suggestions

      Quote Originally Posted by Roguefox77 View Post
      These are the stats from the Test Socket. Any thoughts?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5024 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 15.5 db
      its not a good sign when your stats are worse in the test socket.. can you check your extension sockets when in you have the faceplate removed and ensure they dont have a dial tone? if they dont and your using only the equipment provided by sky you arent going to get a great deal more out of the download speed, it could be tweaked a bit but your upload speed definately needs reconfiguring.

    9. #8
      irradiated's Avatar
      irradiated is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: workington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed suggestions

      similar attenuation to me but i get a little more speed
      i had to nag them somewhat but its worth it in the end
      you have a little higher noise margin so should get more speed and deffo on the upload
      just make sure your connected to the test socket as they wont budge until you are, they have a sheet they read from and you must tick all the box's before they'll put you through to the next level
      they may also ask you to perform a netstat test, make sure you tell them its less than 10 otherwise they wont help saying youve too many connections, crap i know but thats what they are like. it can be hard work, sometimes i wonder if there on a bonus scheme to keep our speeds down
      Connection Speed 7302 kbps 963 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 7 db


    10. #9
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed suggestions

      Quote Originally Posted by irradiated View Post
      just make sure your connected to the test socket as they wont budge until you are, they have a sheet they read from and you must tick all the box's before they'll put you through to the next level
      generally the first question that is asked on skyuser as well

      they may also ask you to perform a netstat test, make sure you tell them its less than 10 otherwise they wont help saying youve too many connections
      hang up, redial and hope you get through to somebody that understands the problem.

      sometimes i wonder if there on a bonus scheme to keep our speeds down
      no there isnt, generally DLM will cap the line if there are regular dropouts or alot of errors on the line. not always of course and manual reconfiguration is generally better.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION