Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 18 of 23 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast
    Results 171 to 180 of 230

    websites that dont work!

    This is a discussion on websites that dont work! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Ralph WinsockFix would sort out any registry problems (Forgot about the PCI alternative!) tried winsock, still unable ...

    1. #171
      gogsie's Avatar
      gogsie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Ralph View Post
      WinsockFix would sort out any registry problems

      (Forgot about the PCI alternative!)
      tried winsock, still unable to get online


    2. Advertisement
    3. #172
      gogsie's Avatar
      gogsie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by skalpel View Post
      That sounds more like you're trying to go through Pipex's proxy - go to Tools>Internet Settings>Connections>LAN Settings and set "Direct connection to the internet" and see if that works.
      Thanks for everyones help I am now up and running at last. Turns out I had to untick all of the boxes in the LAN settings which is something to do with the proxy setting too high for sky.

    4. #173
      angus_young's Avatar
      angus_young is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Inverness, Scotland
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i'm having problems with www.whites.co.uk

    5. #174
      Sparc's Avatar
      Sparc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Angus, the problem is their site. Looks like they are located in Houston, Texas area and that's where the connection is failing. Here's the traceroute

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      C:\Documents and Settings\User>tracert www.whites.co.uk

      Tracing route to www.whites.co.uk [67.15.189.18]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 4 ms 3 ms 3 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 59 ms 80 ms 57 ms cr0.tht.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.86]
      3 41 ms 45 ms 43 ms 80.238.40.33
      4 48 ms 48 ms 47 ms ip-89-200-132-53.ov.easynet.net [89.200.132.53]

      5 45 ms 46 ms 47 ms te-3-3.r00.londen05.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [83.231.14
      6.65]
      6 46 ms 47 ms 47 ms xe-3-2.r00.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3
      .46]
      7 44 ms 47 ms 47 ms xe-0-1-0.r22.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250
      .2.77]
      8 116 ms 116 ms 114 ms p64-1-0-0.r21.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.2.38]
      9 115 ms 115 ms 114 ms xe-0-3-0.r20.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250
      .2.32]
      10 123 ms 120 ms 120 ms p64-2-0-0.r21.asbnva01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.2.181]
      11 154 ms 153 ms 153 ms p64-1-1-0.r20.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.5.24]
      12 150 ms 153 ms 153 ms ae-0.r21.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.5
      9]
      13 158 ms 156 ms 158 ms p64-1-1-0.r21.hstntx01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.4.69]
      14 157 ms 158 ms 158 ms as-0.r02.hstntx01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.3
      1]
      15 159 ms 159 ms 158 ms ge-6.ev1.hstntx01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.10.
      190]
      16 158 ms 158 ms 159 ms gphou-66-98-241-28.ev1.net [66.98.241.28]
      17 160 ms 158 ms 159 ms 66.98.241.109
      18 *

    6. #175
      steve medlock's Avatar
      steve medlock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't access Ebay - disaster!

      This problem only started yesterday, before which we didn't have any problems accessing any website. For the last two days though, I've not been able to access around half the websites in my favourites, including ebay.

      Spent about 45mins on phone with technical support. They suggested I clear my cookies and swap filters around but this hasn't helped.

      Other probelm has been MSN messenger which we haven't been able to use at all with sky broadband.

      Steve.

    7. #176
      paulodeniro's Avatar
      paulodeniro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ebay Etc

      Hi there,

      I also have the same problem as Steve above. I have spoken to sky and it is a problem with one of their large servers. See if this works,

      http://babelfish.altavista.com/

      type in the "translate website" the address of the website you cant access and then select "italian to english" and then it should open for you...

      The man from sky said they are working hard to fix it...

    8. #177
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      www.uktrainsim.com does not work...........

      Can anyone confirm why www.freewebs.com works OK, but www.freewebs.com/crashgearbox doesn't??? It IS a vaild address and IS a live site.............????????????

    9. #178
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Answering my own question, I had Emailed Freewebs support re: www.freewebs/crashgearbox not working..............and ten mins ago up it popped working..............
      My Bus speed is 26 mph, what's yours??

    10. #179
      druss007's Avatar
      druss007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      why oh why?

      various solutions are great to getting access to ebay, microsoft and hotmail. But why should i have to go to this bother.
      Have had broadband for three weeks now, started on the base package, was informed i was gonna be repaid 5 for the delays i had received. They then refunded my 40 and upgraded my account to max. Without my permission! Was then promised someone would call me back to change my package back. Funny enough not a peep.
      The reason for this message is that i could access all thoses sites on the base package, since the unwanted upgrade i am struggling with all the mentioned sites.

      why oh why sky??

    11. #180
      Sparc's Avatar
      Sparc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by bravedan View Post
      www.uktrainsim.com does not work...........

      Can anyone confirm why www.freewebs.com works OK, but www.freewebs.com/crashgearbox doesn't??? It IS a vaild address and IS a live site.............????????????
      ge-6.ev1.hstntx01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net is the problem with uktrainsim.com. Seems to be a problematic route at the moment, but not one sky related unless they are blocking sky users.;

      The freeweb hosts were fine for me

     

     
    Page 18 of 23 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION