Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast
    Results 101 to 110 of 230

    websites that dont work!

    This is a discussion on websites that dont work! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Not me either....

    1. #101
      bktyee's Avatar
      bktyee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Not me either.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #102
      scarey's Avatar
      scarey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Newbury
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Here's a sneaky way of seeing if a web-site is alive or whether it's Sky's dodgy IP range being blocked...

      http://www.pr0xy.co.uk/

      Even www.morethan.com and www.microsoft.com work through this, although everything through this is slooow, but it proves that it's SKY's fault at least!

    4. #103
      Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS's Avatar
      Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Is it deffo skys ips being blocked or sky blocking websites? has anyone deleted skys browser from add/remove programme to see if they have blocks built into to their branded i.e?

      I can get in microsoft no worries, its weird how some people can get in some and not others. Having seen sky admit to blocking SOME sites then im not surprised people are having issues.

      All i got was, we are aware there is an ongoing problem with sites being blocked etc.

    5. #104
      Jdoki's Avatar
      Jdoki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newbury
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I think you may have answered your own question there. If you can get in to microsoft.com and others can not then it is unlikely that Sky are selectively blocking user access to specific sites - much more likely that certain IP ranges have not yet propogated through the various filters.

      There was a post earlier on in this thread from someone registered as Sky Support, who gave a pretty plausible sounding answer. However this info doesn't seem to have reached the various levels of phone tech support at Sky (or they don't want to admit it). I placed four calls, and all went down the usual 'try this, change that, reset the other' road.

      I went active on the 13th and still the access problems continue. I am currently trying to cancel my account.

      Just to add... www.myspace.com is not accessible for me.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 18-09-06 at 03:24 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User Name this helps us to keep the forum tidy and posts more compact. Thanks

    6. #105
      andymccann's Avatar
      andymccann Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      If you want an amusing aside

      I will try the proxy route if only to get the missus off my back!

      There has been lots of interesting stuff on here, I think the tracer post is the most useful as that proves its not local to your PC (so you don't have to waste time going through the standard scripts!)

      I can't get myspace either, want to know the funny aside, Mr Murdoch owns myspace....kind of...and youcan't get at it from his own broadband supply.....I'd laugh if I wasn't so wazzed off about the hole thing

      http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/4697671.stm

    7. #106
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I got onto www.myspace.com no problem in fact I can get onto most of the ones that have been reported here but it would seems my MSN has now decide to stop connecting keep getting the same damn error code 80072745 and when you run Troubleshoot it show everything is ok it driving me nuts
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #107
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      all them work fine for me
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #108
      andymccann's Avatar
      andymccann Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      So why......

      is it working for some and not for others? It makes no sense given the problem description for the sky guy a few pages earlier......

      I am on max, could it depend on the level you are signed up to (so the range problem is only affecting the max guys?)

      Any thoughts?

    10. #109
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      hmm dunno im on MAX it could be that the range your using at the moment might not have been updated?

      only thing i can think of
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    11. #110
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ignore my last post about about MSN I forgot I was testing out UPnP and thought I had disabled it again and I hadn't so its all working again now
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION