Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Intermittent Connection

    This is a discussion on Intermittent Connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for this. One more thing, if I follow these steps and things do as you say, should everything work ...

    1. #11
      gregc1987's Avatar
      gregc1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      Thanks for this. One more thing, if I follow these steps and things do as you say, should everything work normally?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      It depends on the outcome But I think you will find something not right.

    4. #13
      gregc1987's Avatar
      gregc1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      would it be worth running through the broadband istallation again with the CD?

    5. #14
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      No, the router should maintain a stable connection on its own, the CD has nothing to do with this, it just sets up your PC.

    6. #15
      gregc1987's Avatar
      gregc1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      Ha sorry but I’m not overly technical minded, see when you say to try the HD box in the test socket and see if there’s a dial tone – how do I check that?

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      Sorry, it was not well worded, what I mean is using the lead that came with the HD box, connect the HD box to the test socket and see if the box then shows the telephone line is connected ( it is on the signal test page of the settings menu) this will prove the box is o.k.

    8. #17
      gregc1987's Avatar
      gregc1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      Ok thanks mate, i'll give all this a try tonight, and let you know how i get on. I may have to wait for the spare micro filters to come through also to give that a try.

      Cheers

    9. #18
      gregc1987's Avatar
      gregc1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      sorry...i just read your posts in the other intermittent connection thread. i only have the one phone socket, and it is the master/test one?

      will i still follow the advice you gave me?

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      Yes, There is something not quite right,

    11. #20
      gregc1987's Avatar
      gregc1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Connection

      is it worth noting what i originally mentioned about the cable when it first comes through the wall into a filter of some kind?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION