Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 44

    Router

    This is a discussion on Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; With any luck that is it Now leave the router connected, and with a bit more luck your speed will ...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Router

      With any luck that is it

      Now leave the router connected, and with a bit more luck your speed will pick up again.

      I bet you wished you had checked that out before Sky was activated!! I see your attenuation has dropped back down to what it was, a good sign.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      With any luck that is it

      Now leave the router connected, and with a bit more luck your speed will pick up again.

      I bet you wished you had checked that out before Sky was activated!!
      Yes definitely Brian , hopefully the speed will increase now, i know the line is capable having reached 11058 Kbps , im sure the DLM has now finished what do you reckon give it a few days to see if everything is fine before ringing sky to ask for the line to be set manually. ..Thanks again Brian....Regards Colin

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Router

      Yes leave it a couple of days before you contact Sky. I dont know how you feel, but I never contact an ISP unless and untill all other avenues have been covered. DLM runs all the time and it will notice your changed line conditions and will monitor for a while.

    5. #14
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Yes leave it a couple of days before you contact Sky. I dont know how you feel, but I never contact an ISP unless and untill all other avenues have been covered. DLM runs all the time and it will notice your changed line conditions and will monitor for a while.

      Thanks for the good advice Brian, will leave it and see if the noise keeps away and my speed increases.

    6. #15
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router

      Router been on all night (as usual) along with pc running routerstats lite...here is my stats below

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 280:43:45
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 72139 98893 0 0 0 11:38:47
      LAN 6543028 4846569 0 0 0 280:43:45
      WLAN 259789 171066 0 0 0 280:43:17

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6138 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 15.3 db
      Noise Margin 8.9 db 16.0 db
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Router-graph-b.jpg   Router-graph-.jpg  

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Router

      Morning Colin.
      Assuming that the master was the problem and your line remains free of router noise, if your speed does not pick up, then you will nedd to contact Sky.
      If you do, tell them that you had a wiring problem and that this has resulted in DLM setting a lower speed than it other wise would (you do not have to mention the master socket if you dont want to, just say you had a faulty extension or something like that) They may offer to re-run the DLM training period, while this is a bit of a pain, it should now result in a good speed.

      Once you have got this sorted out and everything is o.k do run the password generator so that you can use your old router should the Sagem develop a fault in the future.
      Last edited by Brian69; 16-05-10 at 09:21 AM.

    8. #17
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Once you have got this sorted out and everything is o.k do run the password generator so that you can use your old router should the Sagem develop a fault in the future.

      Morning Brian, How do i run the password generator as i have 2 other routers here and i would like them to be ready for back up if need be. They are a Netgear Dg834g v3 and a Thomson tg585 v7...Again thanks for all your help it is very much appreciated....Regards Colin

    9. #18
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Router

      Its easy. The password generator is on this site under how to get your password.

      As you have a Sagem router, the generator will ask for the LAN Mac address. and your default WAP network key. The network Key is always eight captial letters

      The results will be your user name, which is the lan mac followerd by @skydsl.

      The password is 15 mixed symbols.

      Everything is case sensitive, so be carefull.

      Sky use standard U.K router settings, so if you get it right you just put the username and password into your router/s and away you go.

    10. #19
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router

      Well touch wood i think my line noise and connection problems are over, a very nice openreach engineer came to my house yesterday for approx 1hr 30 mins and found the phone line was very tight coming into the house, infact so tight it keep breaking from the connections. So he extended the wires coming into the house and the noise stopped and not 1 disconnection when the phone is in use. The slight problem i have now is when he went away my connection speed was approx 5000 kbps, it is re-syncing by itself and is currently 7510up 1105 down. I am no longer on Dlm and it has been switched off so it no longer comes on. Will my speed ever return to the 11.8mb down 1.1mb up which sky says i can get (and i have managed that speed in the last few days before the latest faults!!!)....Regards Colin

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7510 kbps 1105 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.5 db 17.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 8.3 db

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router

      It's suspended, not turned off, it can come back on at any time
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION