Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

    This is a discussion on Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, Iam a new sky subscriber (as of today!) and ordered the 20M/1M package. SKY have given me the ...

    1. #1
      phycho's Avatar
      phycho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      Hi Guys,

      Iam a new sky subscriber (as of today!) and ordered the 20M/1M package.

      SKY have given me the sagem fast router (awful piece of hardware) which I plan to replace with a DG834GT soon enough

      my line appears to have synched at only 4mbit, its connected directly to the master socket already (and theres no other extentions).

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13.5 db 6.6 db
      Noise Margin 14.4 db 20.1 db

      This is my line stats. any suggestions on what speed I should get and how long it takes for DLM to increase? (also any way to speed it up?)

      Hoping for the full 20mbit as I have a UKonline (Easynet) line already here that pushes 22Mbit.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      With your low attenuation you should get very close to 20Mb, but your noise margin is a bit low. Is your voice line clear? Are you connected using only the filter and cable supplied by Sky, no phone extension?

      If you read the letter you received you will see that all lines start at 4Mb and increase during the period of DLM training.

      You could try plugging in your GT, you may have a duff router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      phycho's Avatar
      phycho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With your low attenuation you should get very close to 20Mb, but your noise margin is a bit low. Is your voice line clear? Are you connected using only the filter and cable supplied by Sky, no phone extension?
      seems clear enough - havent noticed much noise on it (although its actually used for BB only)

      the SNR was about 30ish previously when I first hooked it up - perhaps a change in ADSL mode or something?

      theres only a filter with a phone and the BB link on it to the router.

      If you read the letter you received you will see that all lines start at 4Mb and increase during the period of DLM training.
      I didnt see that in any documentation! would have been handy to know

      You could try plugging in your GT, you may have a duff router.
      Think I will give it a go - I had the GT hooked up, but the first few times I did, it was loosing sync or something - would connect then drop 3 or 4 times.

    5. #4
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      yes you are on adsl 2+ at the moment but thats what you should be on, if your line code was G.DMT your line would see more than 8mb, its not going to see more than 8mb at the moment either. can your post your stats from the test socket with a new filter and just skys short adsl cable??

    6. #5
      phycho's Avatar
      phycho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      almost exactly the same

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13.0 db 6.6 db
      Noise Margin 15.4 db 20.4 db

    7. #6
      phycho's Avatar
      phycho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      changes

      its finally changed now to this -

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16382 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13.0 db 6.8 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 16.7 db

      was hoping for nearer 20!

      do you think I will be able to get 20 with a different router?

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      You should with your attenuation but you won't with that noise margin. Try removing the facrplate and go directly into the TEST socket just to rule out a faulty faceplate. It would also be worth changing the filter.

    9. #8
      hyped0's Avatar
      hyped0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rosendale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      United Kingdom
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      How comes mine is stuck exactly how this?
      And I started before you.

      My current status:

      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 db 11.7 db
      Noise Margin 15.2 db 18.6 db

      ****

      By the way, is yours still running on DLM? If it is still running, the good chance is that it will be nearer.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      It's nothing to do with starting before someone, it's the DLM engine and it'll run until it's happy with what it sees. If you feel it's wrong then call Sky and ask them
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Dumachi's Avatar
      Dumachi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Walsgrave on Sowe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 20M DLM

      Slightly off topic but does what router you use affect the DLM cause im using my linksys wag120n instead of skys crap router.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION