Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    New user coming from Virgin Media

    This is a discussion on New user coming from Virgin Media within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi! I've just signed up with Sky for HDTV, Broadband Unlimited, Talk Freetime, Line Rental etc. I am moving from ...

    1. #1
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New user coming from Virgin Media

      Hi!

      I've just signed up with Sky for HDTV, Broadband Unlimited, Talk Freetime, Line Rental etc.

      I am moving from Virgin Media; I went with Sky for everything as BT would've charged a 124.99 fee to reconnect me. Whereas Sky gave me free install and six months free line rental, so to me the choice was obvious

      Now I've had ADSL in this property before I went over to Virgin Media (bad choice) with O2, and was quite happily plodding along at 18M sync rate (actual stats were 18,099K / 1,403K sync, 3.5dB/3.5dB SNR, and 25.5dB/12dB attenuation.

      I've heard a bit about the SVBN network that I'll be put on. What should I expect?

      What I'm most concerned with is:

      1. Do Sky support disabling interleaving (fast path)?
      2. What's the lowest SNR that anyone knows DLM having set on a line?
      3. I've been given a Sagem F@st by Sky. Should I use this or my Netgear DGND3300 during the 10-Day training? I'll be using the Netgear after the training either way. Perhaps it would be better to leave the Sagem connected until I notice the firmware update to 2.6 take place?

      I've read a lot of horror stories about the SVBN on these boards and TBB so am a bit anxious about what's going to happen come line-go-live day; anyone else's experiences would be helpful


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      Quote Originally Posted by HDCheapskate View Post
      1. Do Sky support disabling interleaving (fast path)?
      No but you can get your max delays reduced to 8 which helps a lot.

      Quote Originally Posted by HDCheapskate View Post
      2. What's the lowest SNR that anyone knows DLM having set on a line?
      Sky have a defualy of 6.9db

      Quote Originally Posted by HDCheapskate View Post
      3. I've been given a Sagem F@st by Sky. Should I use this or my Netgear DGND3300 during the 10-Day training? I'll be using the Netgear after the training either way. Perhaps it would be better to leave the Sagem connected until I notice the firmware update to 2.6 take place?
      I would leave the Sagen on and piggyback the Netgear if needed.

    4. #3
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      And then once training is finished and DLM stopps spying on my line I can hook up my DGND3300 and DMT the SNR back to where it was with O2 back in the day. Awesomes

      With an Interleave Delay of 8 what sort of pings could I expect? I remember a very long time ago when I was with UKOnline, the Easynet network managed to deliver 9ms pings to me 24/7.

      So the DLM defaults to 7dB SNR; is this the lowest or just the default?

      Oh, geek quiz - anyone know what my avatar is?

      Thanks for helpz

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      I wouldn't worry about the horror stories heard on the board about SVBN - no one is going to sign up to the board to state their success stories of being moved to mpf. With the stats you've rhymed off, you should see a good sync speed - albeit not as high due to sky's target snr being 7db, but as you say, lowering it yourself with the dmt tool can be done.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      If you can still find a CST agent with PuTTY access then they can set the target SNR lower but this was stopped in it's use once LAMA came into play. CST can now set the SNR to 7, 9 or 12dB up and down...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      Quote Originally Posted by HDCheapskate View Post
      With an Interleave Delay of 8 what sort of pings could I expect? I remember a very long time ago when I was with UKOnline, the Easynet network managed to deliver 9ms pings to me 24/7.
      It will be nowhere near 9, probably around the low to mid 30's.

      Quote Originally Posted by HDCheapskate View Post

      Oh, geek quiz - anyone know what my avatar is?
      A purple Smartie ?


    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      Quote Originally Posted by HDCheapskate View Post
      Oh, geek quiz - anyone know what my avatar is?
      Alcatel-Lucent.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      A mobius M & M?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      Prize goes to User05 to correctly identifying my avatar as the logo for Alcatel-Lucent, the manufacturer of the Alcatel ISAM in use on Sky's SVBM network

      One week to go to see what said kit is capable of

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New user coming from Virgin Media

      my avatar as the logo for Alcatel-Lucent,
      I trust you have permission to use this logo, which is no doubt protected under the Copyright Act?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION