Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky Sagem Routers - Range

    This is a discussion on Sky Sagem Routers - Range within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Getting connected on 6th May, I have recieved my sagem router and was wondering about the range of these things. ...

    1. #1
      FASTF0RWARD's Avatar
      FASTF0RWARD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      Getting connected on 6th May, I have recieved my sagem router and was wondering about the range of these things. I must say it looks a little tacky, I'm currently using netgear rangemax cable router (as still on VM), I hope this sagem wont drop out signal as soon as I move behind a wall or go out in the garden. What are your experiences with this router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      757
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      Quote Originally Posted by FASTF0RWARD View Post
      Getting connected on 6th May, I have recieved my sagem router and was wondering about the range of these things. I must say it looks a little tacky, I'm currently using netgear rangemax cable router (as still on VM), I hope this sagem wont drop out signal as soon as I move behind a wall or go out in the garden. What are your experiences with this router?
      it will check the sagam forum for details

    4. #3
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      It won't be a patch on your Cable router.

      However you can disable NAT on your cable router and use it in conjunction with the Sagem if you like

    5. #4
      StanRogo's Avatar
      StanRogo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      London
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      The range of all the sky routers is really bad. The bad thing is that their terms and conditions don't allow you to use another router

      But of course I've never heard of anyone being cut off for hacking their router and using another more expensive one such as any N+ router.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      an N router is only good if you have an N receiver on your PC - otherwise it's not worth it. Another G+ router would do just as good a job and probably cost half the price
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      Mmm no quite but seeing as OP already has an N router he may as well use it in conjunction with his Sky Sagem. Disable NAT and jobs a good un'

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      Unless he has the Rangmax Next model he will not have an N router, but as it is Mimo router(7 aerials) capable of 108mbps, it will be faster and have better range than the Sagem. Piggy-backing to the Sagem is probably the best idea. That way no range will be lost. You can forget using the Sagem at the bottom of the garden, unless you want to throw it at a cat.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      realist77's Avatar
      realist77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      Hello there guys, I have the same router - Sagem F@st 2504 v3.1 and was connected yesterday to the sky unlimited package and the range is awful. The router is downstairs and its connected directly to the main telephone port and is ok in that room but as soon as I go upstairs I cannot get a signal but can still get a signal from nearby houses which are much further away?

      What are my options?

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      Quote Originally Posted by realist77 View Post
      Hello there guys, I have the same router - Sagem F@st 2504 v3.1 and was connected yesterday to the sky unlimited package and the range is awful. The router is downstairs and its connected directly to the main telephone port and is ok in that room but as soon as I go upstairs I cannot get a signal but can still get a signal from nearby houses which are much further away?

      What are my options?
      Change the channel on the router from auto to something else. That should help the range.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagem Routers - Range

      Also, if you don't have old gear using 11b, change the mode to 54g Performance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION