Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ??

    This is a discussion on Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there just a quick one, 4 days ago i got rid of my sagem 2504 and hooked up my ...

    1. #1
      thedadio's Avatar
      thedadio is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ??

      Hi there just a quick one, 4 days ago i got rid of my sagem 2504 and hooked up my old TalkTalk Hg520b. Straight away my snr margin tripled from 6 to 18db.
      So i rang sky, got them to reprofile my line and now im on adsl2 at more than twice the speed i was with the sagem. Only thing is when i restart my router the snr starts out at 6db. then as we progress into the night it drops anywhere to 0.1 db. Check out these stats because i dont think i should have been connected for the past three days lol, anyway, im on Sky unlimited, i have never lost sync, never suffered slowdown, xbox live is perfect, low pings (-38ms) no lag. Can anyone here tell my why im still connected?? thanks!!

      ADSL State Show Time
      Data Path Interleaved
      Operation Mode ADSL2
      Bandwidth Down/Up(kbps) 5088 / 799
      SNR Margin Down/Up(dB) 0.2 / 11.0
      Attenuation Down/Up(dB) 55.0 / 36.3
      Power Down/Up(dBm) 18.3 / 12.3
      CRC Down/Up 2874 / 395
      FEC Down/Up 65487 / 2451
      HEC Down/Up 15053 / 0
      System Up Time 54:28:35
      DSL Up Time 54:27:54
      PVC Select PVC-0
      PPP Up Time 53:49:24


      Ps. Note DSL Up Time, SNR Margin Down, Unbelivably Low CRC errors. I remember when i had this router on Talk talk my snr would drop to below 3, then disconnect, and i would have over 1 million crc errors within an hour, thanks!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ??

      System time is normally just the routers uptime - you may have lost IP throughout the last few days without knowing it. If it becomes a problem resync it in the evening and it should stay fine (albeit losing a little speed)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      thedadio's Avatar
      thedadio is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ??

      I havent lost sync as the dsl up time is still counting up, it doesnt matter what time i re sync i will still get 5088 downstream, my connection is still up and fine, plus i use routerstats to monitor my line and it has yet to inform me ive been disconnected thanks.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ??

      If it's not dropping sync then don't worry about it

      I take it you still own the Sagem router, as Sky are doing FW updates and it'd be VERY easy to find out who's not accepting the update and suss out you're breaking the T&Cs
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      thedadio's Avatar
      thedadio is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ??

      So what your telling me is i am bound by the t+c to use a crap router which can only handle 1/3 of the speed my current router will? Im sorry but im not going to pay for upto 20mb and use a max 2mb router thanks.... roll on Virgin Media, Cab in my street is live now!! Not long now :-) :-) 50mb here i come

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ??

      Can anyone here tell my why im still connected??
      Yes, although you have a fairly long line it is in very good condition. Most lines with your noise margin would be constantly dropping, you are very fortunate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Still Connected at 0.1 db Snr Margin ??

      Quote Originally Posted by thedadio View Post
      So what your telling me is i am bound by the t+c to use a crap router which can only handle 1/3 of the speed my current router will? Im sorry but im not going to pay for upto 20mb and use a max 2mb router thanks.... roll on Virgin Media, Cab in my street is live now!! Not long now :-) :-) 50mb here i come
      Why didn't you just have sky send you out a free new router if your old one was giving bad sync rates? Anyway, you should have read the terms and conditions - why anyone agrees to a contract without reading these is beyond me.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION