Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Slowing broadband download speed!

    This is a discussion on Slowing broadband download speed! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Help! I recently moved from BT (getting a download speed of 0.5mb) to Sky base as for the low speeds ...

    1. #1
      smart_westend's Avatar
      smart_westend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slowing broadband download speed!

      Help!

      I recently moved from BT (getting a download speed of 0.5mb) to Sky base as for the low speeds I was getting I thought I may as well get broadband for free!

      My download speed immediatly went to 2.0mb! With my new found speed I quickly went over the usage allowance and have switched to the 'Unlimited' package. My speed thn increased to 2.5mb (not great but 5 times better than I had with BT!!)

      In the last few weeks my speed has gone down to 0.6mb - what happened!!

      Here are my router stats:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 762 kbps 414 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 16 db

      Please keep any replies simple - I don't understand all the tech stuff!!

      Thanks in advance for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      The speed looks like it has been capped. Reboot the router and check whether you still get the same downstream & upstream speeds. Plug into your test socket (link below) with only the filter and the short grey dsl cable sky supplied running to the router and re-post the stats.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    4. #3
      smart_westend's Avatar
      smart_westend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      I don't have a test socket.

      What I believe to be the main BT plate has 2 sockets on the front plate (i connect the router & phone to one of these) but no test socket. Looks like I have 2 extensions, 1 is used for the Sky+ box and one is not used at all as the phones work wirelessly.

      I've rebooted the router and disconnected the phone and Sky box and have got the following (almost identical) speeds at & 7am this morning :-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 768 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 16 db

      Any other thoughts?

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      Quote Originally Posted by smart_westend View Post
      What I believe to be the main BT plate has 2 sockets on the front plate (i connect the router & phone to one of these) but no test socket. Looks like I have 2 extensions, 1 is used for the Sky+ box and one is not used at all as the phones work wirelessly.
      From what you're describing, it sounds like a filtered faceplate. Does it have two ports on the front of the faceplate, one for dsl and one for the phone? Like the following:



      If so, you'll have a test socket behind there if you unscrew the faceplate off and plug in a filter with the adsl cable going to the router.

      Just to confirm, are you using any extension cables from the socket to the router?

    6. #5
      smart_westend's Avatar
      smart_westend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      It's not like the picture it has 2 telephone sockets - both of which work.

      The router is plugged into a micro filter (along with the phone) directly into one of the two sockets, so no extension cable for the router, although I do use one from the filter for the telephone.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      You've got a horrid double fronted normal socket, used to give us all sorts of headaches when I was still in CST...you sure it's your master?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      smart_westend's Avatar
      smart_westend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      It's the closest plate to the front door, where the main BT cable comes in and is flush mounted to the wall!

      Taking the plate off it looks like it has one incoming cable and another outgoing to the bedroom extension. The bedroom plate has one socket and appears to have the one incoming cable and one outgoing which is going to an extension behind the TV so I'm pretty certain its the master!

      Does this affect my speed or just make it impossible to do a test?

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      just means ruling out internal wiring is harder
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      smart_westend's Avatar
      smart_westend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      Not great then!

      So is it a call to Sky to see if they are capping my line?

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slowing broadband download speed!

      You need to sort out your wiring first.

      I would fit a new NTE5 with a filtered faceplate instead of the double fronted socket, then fun all the extensions from that and rung the router from it too. That way you will have a test socket if you ever need one but you will also have a filtered connection for the router so none of the extra sockets can affect it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION