Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Sky Broadband cut's off

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband cut's off within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am having problems with my sky broadband, Since friday it cuts off whenever i pick up a call on ...

    1. #1
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband cut's off

      I am having problems with my sky broadband, Since friday it cuts off whenever i pick up a call on my home/landline telephone, i have recently got a new cordless telephone but that was about 2 weeks ago and this problem has only come about in the past few days. Any help would be greatly received


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      Usually a symptom of noise/interference coming from improper physical set-up.

      How many telephone sockets do you use in the house?
      What do you have connected to each of these sockets? (If you can reply with the following format)

      master socket > microfilter > x
      extension socket > splitter > x

      etc.

    4. #3
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      master socket>microfilter>telephone and broadband router

      There two other sockets in the house but they are NTL and sky is connected via the BT socket

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      Any noise on the landline telephone whilst in use, like crackles/static/popping?

      Swap over for another microfilter if you have one spare and ring your landline to check whether the internet light still drops out. If it still drops sync, then you're going to want to plug into your test socket and do the same test to rule out internal wiring issues.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    6. #5
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      I have already swapped over the microfilter for a new one i got with the router, i also had it connected to the test circuit and it still dropped out when i picked up any call on teh home phone.

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      Only last thing you could rule out (unless you have a spare router and adsl cable handy) is the telephone cable to the handset - I take it you've also changed that over? Is there any noise on the landline whilst it's in use?

    8. #7
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      No there is no noise on the landline while i use the phone and yes i have swapped over the cable, it runs from the nicrofilter to the base unit of the cordless phone

    9. #8
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      Kovacss
      Hi I have been looking for some threads that might help here`s a link Help: Ethernet cable to master socket = No internet access also is your connection for you sky tv plugged into the master socket if so unplug it. I know you have no noise on your phone line but a look through the thread might help

    10. #9
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      my sky tv is not connected to any phone socket, i am using the sky supplied micro filters that came with the router

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      re: Sky Broadband cut's off

      You've ruled out mostly everything internal, bar the router and adsl cable. At this point, you're best calling sky (08442410515) to get it sorted.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION