Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 54

    Testing Master Socket

    This is a discussion on Testing Master Socket within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ah, no worries. Oh well, when you DO get master socket info as above . Will they fit an ADSL ...

    1. #41
      far2wired's Avatar
      far2wired is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: KINGSMEAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bath, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ah, no worries. Oh well, when you DO get master socket info as above .

      Will they fit an ADSL faceplate or standard?

      Have a look at -
      http://www.clarity.it/xcart/product....cat=262&page=1

      Fitting one of these instead of filters improved my SNR by 10db...
      Sky Broadband Max | Wired | Clarity modified ADSL master socket | 10m twisted pair ADSL extension


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      sambuka's Avatar
      sambuka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Dewsbury
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I sure will, im dreading the engineer coming and finding theres nothing wrong with my phone though. Trying to think of the best way to explain to him whats actually wrong lol.

    4. #43
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink

      Whatever you do do not mention that you may have damaged the Master socket with a Hoover etc, damage is not covered by your telephone line rental, if any of the telephones in your house belong to BT, make sure it is one of theres that is plugged into the socket, not one of your own, your own telephones are again not covered by your BT line rental..the engineer is quite within his rights to stick you with a visit charge, and the cost of a new socket, I suspect even though is illegal to interfere with BT's own equipment, I never knew of a case where they would disconnect a customers line for good through 'messing about', unless it caused a fault on the BT line, then, they would send an engineer out, repair the problem, charge you a visit + materials charge, and then reconnect you at the exchange....a better problem fault than noise is intermittent bell not ringing, now that could be the Master Socket....nudge, nudge.....

    5. #44
      sambuka's Avatar
      sambuka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Dewsbury
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      'intermittent bell not ringing' please could you explain what this is?

    6. #45
      sambuka's Avatar
      sambuka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Dewsbury
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Im considering cancelling the appointment with the engineer. I think he is going to charge me for the call out and new socket. Is it easy to fit your own master socket?

    7. #46
      far2wired's Avatar
      far2wired is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: KINGSMEAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bath, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You cannot fit a master socket yourself. BT have to do it. They are responsible for the equipemnt up to (and including) the master socket. The NTE5 has a faceplate which you can remove to add extensions to etc.

      Read this -

      http://www.clarity.it/telecoms/nte5.htm

      There are legal ways to get round it, again read the site above its a source of some really good info.

      Like blimey, NTE5s have been fitted since the 80s, how old IS your wiring
      Sky Broadband Max | Wired | Clarity modified ADSL master socket | 10m twisted pair ADSL extension

    8. #47
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink

      Intermittent Bell not Ringing is a problem, when you know someone has tried to ring you, and the bell/sounder has not rung on your telephone, it can be caused by a faulty connection in the Master Socket.

    9. #48
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink

      Wouldn't absolutely swear to it, but I think that NTE5 was the first Socket type that BT started to fit after privatisation in the 80's, when customers were then allowed to go somewhere else and 'buy' a telephone....and fit there own extension sockets....

    10. #49
      sambuka's Avatar
      sambuka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Dewsbury
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      NO idea how old wiring is. The thing is i have an nte5 master socket on my 3rd floor on a second line which is dead and has been since i lived here could i just disconnect that one and swap them round maybe?

      There is nothing wrong with my phones or bb thats why i think im gunna be charged only thing i can see wrong is that the socket is painted and the wiring is a joke.

    11. #50
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      If you have an NTE5 it should have a face plate, the bottom part of which is removable, behind that there should be some screw terminals with your extension wiring connected to them, if you no longer require your extension wiring, by all mean disconnect it, until such time as you can get around to making the extension wiring good, the BT Engineer will not touch any wiring which does not belong to BT, on you records held at the exchange will be the number of sockets you have had fitted by BT, if that is only the NTE5, that is as far as the BT Engineer will test, he may disconnect your extension wiring for you if it it causing a fault, I would not attempt to 'switch' the exchange line wiring from one socket to another, unless you are absolutely confident of your ability, and do be aware, if someone does decide to 'give you a ring' whilst you have your hands on the wiring, it will give you quite a shock....

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION