Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

    This is a discussion on Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; EllGee Hi where are you doing your speed tests from. A good idea is to use more than one speed ...

    1. #11
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      EllGee
      Hi where are you doing your speed tests from. A good idea is to use more than one speed tester http://www.skyuser.co.uk/speedtester/ plus Broadband Speed Checker - THE UK's No.1 Broadband Speed Test and thinkbroadband :: Broadband Speed Test This way you will be able to see the average between the three.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      EllGee's Avatar
      EllGee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      When in the test socket my stats are downstream 13343kbps upstream 500-700kbs estimated. When just plugged into the master socket i get around 10000kbs. My router is downstairs and when i do a speed test on my computer upstairs on speedtest.net my results can range from 0.3-11mbps within minutes. I have just done a speed test using all three of the above tests and got an average of 11mbs. But just 10 minutes ago I was getting around 1.4mbs on speedtest.net and the speed test on this site. So any ideas lol? Maybe just a signal problem?

    4. #13
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      EllGee
      Hi speedtest.net is not a very reliable speed tester. It can show 1.4MBs then with the next test can show 21.4MBs that is how unreliable speedtester.net is. If you are not hard wired make sure the router is near the master socket. connected with a short cable. But if you do use an extension the router should still be next to the master socket then run an ethernet cable to your computer as emrobin has said. The cable are
      rj11 to the main socket which is a XTE-2005 has two connection points 1/ Telephone 2/ ADSL the XTE-2005 is already filtered so no need for filters. then from the router to the computer I use aBelgin RJ45 FastCAT5e Patch Cable , 5M Snagless Molded . (ethernet cable)
      Sky User - Which ADSL Faceplate Filter?

    5. #14
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      EllGee
      Hi speedtest.net is not a very reliable speed tester. It can show 1.4MBs then with the next test can show 21.4MBs that is how unreliable speedtester.net is
      as he said, he was getting the same results on the speedtester on this site. speedtest.net is generally fine for me, i run regular speedtests and as long as i use the london server the speedtest seems to match up with my actual download speed. connecting wirelessly/bandwith being drained by a program on the computer is more likely to be the problem.

    6. #15
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      misfit96
      Hi have you read the beginning of EllGee last post
      when i do a speed test on my computer upstairs on speedtest.net my results can range from 0.3-11mbps within minutes
      There are many posts about the unreliability of speedtest.net.

    7. #16
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      All speedtesters can be unreliable at times. The post suggested -

      Quote Originally Posted by EllGee
      But just 10 minutes ago I was getting around 1.4mbs on speedtest.net and the speed test on this site. So any ideas lol? Maybe just a signal problem?
      All speedtests are fluctuating.

      It's probably going to be down to wireless interference. Have the channels on the router been changed at all?

    8. #17
      EllGee's Avatar
      EllGee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      Ok think its sorted, downloaded air radar and found channels of my 12 neighbouring wireless channels then changed it to 13. getting 11mb upstairs and a tiny bit more near the router. Thats still a loss of 2mb from the 13mb on my line, but hey its a lot better than the speed i was getting a few days back!

    9. #18
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      misfit96
      Hi have you read the beginning of EllGee last post

      There are many posts about the unreliability of speedtest.net.
      my speedtests sit between 45mb and 50mb no matter what time of the day and they match up with my download speed, iv been doing this for a good while, on the london server with speedtest.net

    10. #19
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      wow i guess i was wrong heh 0.3mb jeese thats even worse than the other user omg get sky onto it quick i wouldnt put up with that bro

    11. #20
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Only receiving 0.3-1.3mbs?

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      wow i guess i was wrong heh 0.3mb jeese thats even worse than the other user omg get sky onto it quick i wouldnt put up with that bro
      The problem was nothing to do with sky. It's all sorted now, anyway.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION