Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 41

    Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

    This is a discussion on Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Sometimes I transfer up/down several GB in a day and have found that when I do so, after the ...

    1. #1
      merrydown's Avatar
      merrydown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121427
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      Hello,

      Sometimes I transfer up/down several GB in a day and have found that when I do so, after the first 1.5GB or so my connection will hang and then reappear with a new WAN IP and this reoccurs every couple of hundred MB after that. Is this Sky punishing me for using their service hard? I know Sky suggested they throttle people's connection if they are filesharing etc (which doesn't apply to me).

      The other possibility is that my non-sky router replacement (sky wanted to charge me for a replacement of theirs out of warranty) is baulking every couple of GB. Any ideas, suggestions, comments etc please?

      Jim


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      That's nothing to do with Sky, it's something else...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      merrydown's Avatar
      merrydown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121427
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      You sound pretty certain there. What would be your guess then, the router or some other line / service issue?

      Jim

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      If you're on Unlimited then it's exactly that. As to what's causing the issue it could be anything. Is the router actually dropping sync? Does it do it with the Sky router?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      merrydown's Avatar
      merrydown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121427
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      The Sky router is a brick (as functional as one anyway). Hence it went in the bin and the one I am using Linksys/Cisco WAG54G2 was always reliable before I used it on Sky and hasn't reported any problems to me. The logs don't show any errors at all, just incoming and outgoing packets...

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      Do you lose sync, though? As in fully disconnect and reconnect or is it just dropping the IP address?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      merrydown's Avatar
      merrydown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121427
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      I am on windows 7. As the download manager races towards 100% for each file, evenutally I notice it has stopped, then a few seconds later there is a yellow triangle with black exclamation mark over the network icon in the system tray which indicates that I can connect to the router, but that the router can't connect to the internet. I check the router and it says:

      Login Type: RFC 2364 PPPoA
      Interface: Down

      when working the interface is Up.

      That is all the diagnostic information that I have seen so far. I assume that since I cannot access the internet for a while that my connection has been cut and that when it re-establishes I am allocated a fresh IP.

      Does that answer your question in a round about way?

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      All other lights stay on on the router I presume? Can you see the status times of the router?

      I have the same issue on o2 in the fact the router keeps turning itself off and then back on again using the stock Thomson/o2 Wireless Box
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      merrydown's Avatar
      merrydown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121427
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      Ooh, I haven't looked at the status lights on the router. I will try to repeat the problem later, but I am guessing the dsl light will go out then come back on again as the broadband 'interface' goes back up.

      Status times? I am assuming that would be a log of the status over time. I dont think so - am guessing in my router that would be in the system log which seems to remain empty...

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Does Sky break connection if you use more than xGB during the day?

      Once logged into the router, far right is 'Status' it should tell you more in there about the connection...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION