Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    How do I know if I'm on SVBN?

    This is a discussion on How do I know if I'm on SVBN? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been searching around and cannot find a concrete answer to this, I saw that someone dialed 1571 on their ...

    1. #1
      sbarkeri's Avatar
      sbarkeri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shipley, W.Yorks
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do I know if I'm on SVBN?

      I've been searching around and cannot find a concrete answer to this, I saw that someone dialed 1571 on their phone and it said "Welcome to Sky messaging service..." however when I phone it it mearly says "Welcome to your messaging service". Is there any simple way to find out if I have been moved over the the SVBN service yet or are still on the BT network.

      I ask because as someone who does a lot of web development I am often uploading large files 1GB+ and could really so with the extra upload speed "promiced" when moved to the new network, upto 1.3Mb is it? I currently get 765kbs which I have had for the last 3 years since joining Sky. Even if I haven't been moved over yet if I ring Sky and get through to CST is there any chance I could get the 1.3Mb on the old network?

      Cheers,
      Steve


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: How do I know if I'm on SVBN?

      Regardless of whether you're on SVBN or not, sky can set your upstream to 1312kbps. Let's see your stats to see what you could handle.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How do I know if I'm on SVBN?

      Whether you'll get that is another matter, likely to see 1.1Mbps-ish...

      Call you landline and let it go to 1571 - it says then 'Welcome to the Sky Voicemail service etc...' OR call Sky and ask them as they can tell you in 10 seconds
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      sbarkeri's Avatar
      sbarkeri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shipley, W.Yorks
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know if I'm on SVBN?

      Current stats are as followed from a filtered faceplate:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8435 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 15.3 db

      Will give sky a call today, am I right in saying that if I call them from the Sky Talk line it will be free?

      P.S. Any sort of increase in upload would be a great bonus, even if it is something as small as 100/150.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do I know if I'm on SVBN?

      If you subscribe to Sky Talk Unlimited calls to support are free at all times. If you have Freetime they are only free during your 'freetime' period.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      sbarkeri's Avatar
      sbarkeri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shipley, W.Yorks
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know if I'm on SVBN?

      Just gave Sky a bell and it would appear that I am indeed not yet on the SVBN network, so how exactly would I go about getting Sky to manually set my upstream to >765kbs, I would presume the Kana form however it has changed a little since I used it before and now has no option to type in any information about your problem.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do I know if I'm on SVBN?

      Just phone them up and ask them to increase your upload. You could get around 1 Mb.

      I am not sure if the KANA has changed or just not working properly. When you go through the selection boxes it should allow you to refine your problem. As it is it is useless.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION