Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 36

    My Unlimited Broadband

    This is a discussion on My Unlimited Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Try using http://www.skyuser.co.uk/speedtester/ With a sync of 10Mb, you should get a download speed of around 8.7Mb/s...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      Try using http://www.skyuser.co.uk/speedtester/

      With a sync of 10Mb, you should get a download speed of around 8.7Mb/s

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      Here it is...

      So I can't get any more speed, despite being Unlimited?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails My Unlimited Broadband-sky-speed-test.jpg  

    4. #13
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      It seems not. Either you have a bad quality line, a faulty router, or perhaps a fault on the line. Unless you have a bad voice line (crackles/static/popping) on the land line, then there is nothing your line provider will do fix the bad quality. The latter two can be ruled out by sky. In honesty, I doubt it'd be the router, but do you have a spare router and/or adsl cable handy, or do any friends/relatives have sky that you could borrow their router and adsl cable off?

      The speed you're getting on speed tests is your throughput speed. It's different from the speeds we're looking at from the router, as that is the speed you're syncing to your exchange equipment. Due to overheads, you'll never get the full 10mbps sync (no one will ever get their sync speed on a speed test, unless it's an erroneous reading). In other words, don't take notice of the speed tests for the time being - they are reading correctly, but the router stats are what we're interested in at the moment.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      Looking at your upload speed, I don't think you have been moved to Unlimited yet, but it will make no difference to your download. Your upload should increase.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Mr Spouse's Avatar
      Mr Spouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      As others have said, it's unlikely. Unlimited is 'up to 20Mb'. Actual speed is dependent on noise and attenuation on your line. You say you are close to the exchange, so it may be worth waiting for DLM to complete (around 10 days) then see if you can get Sky/BT to check your connection from the exchange for faults. Do you know exactly how far away you are?

    7. #16
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      In honesty, I doubt it'd be the router, but do you have a spare router and/or adsl cable handy, or do any friends/relatives have sky that you could borrow their router and adsl cable off?

      The speed you're getting on speed tests is your throughput speed. It's different from the speeds we're looking at from the router, as that is the speed you're syncing to your exchange equipment. Due to overheads, you'll never get the full 10mbps sync (no one will ever get their sync speed on a speed test, unless it's an erroneous reading). In other words, don't take notice of the speed tests for the time being - they are reading correctly, but the router stats are what we're interested in at the moment.
      No, I dont know anyone else with Sky broadband. Even if I did, their router wouldn't work, would it? As they all have different ADSL user name and passwords. The line quality is fine, as the house is quite new. (I had the line checked at the beginning of the year, as my wife was struggling to hear people on the phone. Turns out it's the handset, not the line. So got a new handset. I doubt it's the router as well.

      I was just wanting to see if my router stats are ok. Should I call Sky and ask them to adjust anything, such as ping, or attenuation, etc?

      @ Mr Spouse, I am 0.40 miles from exchange direct and 0.8 miles by road from exchange. Basically round the corner lol

    8. #17
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      It doesn't particularly matter if the house is a new build, the telephone line can still be of poor quality, which seems is the case. Another router would work as long as it isn't suspended, regardless of the dsl user & pass in the router.

      If you're happy with the speed, your stats are fine. You're by no means slow, but I would have expected more from the attenuation. Sky can't change your ping or attenuation. They can change your max delays which will lead to lower ping times, but there's no point unless you're into gaming.

    9. #18
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      So basically, my Unlimited is Limited lol

    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      To the physical contraints of your phone line - yes!!

      It's more towards the 'unlimited' download limit, not speed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: My Unlimited Broadband

      Well here is an update.. I have been upgraded, it looks like.

      I ran 2 speed tests to compare, and attached the router stats.

      Do they look ok?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails My Unlimited Broadband-router-stats.jpg   My Unlimited Broadband-speedtest-1.jpg   My Unlimited Broadband-speedtest-2.jpg  

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION