Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    will leaving sky help?

    This is a discussion on will leaving sky help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've pretty much had enough of Sky's awful broadband service. Basically the speed varies from slow to really really slow ...

    1. #1
      whistl3r's Avatar
      whistl3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      will leaving sky help?

      I've pretty much had enough of Sky's awful broadband service. Basically the speed varies from slow to really really slow and after dealing with the customer support who blame my building and say they can't help me.

      I'm thinking of changing ISPs but wondering if thy are telling the truth and I doing so won't improve my connection.

      Any advice would gratefully received

      my stats at the moment are

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 640 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 7 db

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1632 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 7 db

      two sets of stats which show the best and worst of my connection. It seems to depend on the time of day. Could there be a heavy user in my building hogging the bandwidth?

      but this varies greatly depending on the time of day so maybe of little use.
      Last edited by whistl3r; 18-04-10 at 10:53 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: will leaving sky help?

      according to your current stats your speed isnt going to improve despite who your provider may be(adsl)

      can you post your stats from your test socket with a new filter and a short adsl cable(like the short grey one sky provide)

      instructions on how to connect to your test socket can be found in my signature

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: will leaving sky help?

      Post your stats from the Test socket if you have one, using only the cable supplied by Sky. -
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      If you don't have a Test socket, remove everything you have plugged into the phone line, leaving just the filter and the router plugged into the Master socket, connected only with the cable supplied by Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      whistl3r's Avatar
      whistl3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: will leaving sky help?

      thanks for the quick replies

      I live in an apartment block and none of the 3 sockets are a master one.
      My speeds are the same wired or wireless. I have already gone through these processes with the sky customer support people.

      So the answer seems to be move house rather than ISP?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: will leaving sky help?

      Its a common problem in flats/apartment blocks, for some reason they do not seem to be able to get phone lines working as they should. In saying that you should still have a Master socket, it may be in a common cupboard or service room. Have you had a look inside all the sockets for a capacitor etc?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      whistl3r's Avatar
      whistl3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: will leaving sky help?

      I've not tried looking for a socket in unusual places.. I will do so.

      all 3 i have checked have had the standard 3 cables. I removed the ringer cable in each for the sake of testing with no improvement.

    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: will leaving sky help?

      whistl3r
      Hi I know this might sound strange but do you have a cupboard near the front door or Just outside the front door with gas and Electric meters in it. The reason I am asking I remember reading an oldish thread about the Master Socket being in a meter cupboard I cannot remember if it was in or outside the front door

    9. #8
      whistl3r's Avatar
      whistl3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: will leaving sky help?

      There is a room just like that, how will be able to test from there though ?

    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: will leaving sky help?

      whistl3r
      Hi is it in or outside. also Have a look to is see if there is any telephone sockets of any kind in the cupboard

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION