Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

    This is a discussion on Issues with Mcafee and win 7? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, It seems the CD sky sends is no use in installing McAfee if you have win7, it simply gets ...

    1. #1
      Azrael84's Avatar
      Azrael84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      Hi,

      It seems the CD sky sends is no use in installing McAfee if you have win7, it simply gets to wireless setup bit then exits. However I can't seem to download/activate McAfee online either at sky.com/mysky, when I go to dload it says "Service not available please try again later...", I've tried three different browsers, and also trying to access it on abother laptop with vista, and nothing has worked. Sky CS dont seem to know whats going on, just wondering if anyone else has had issues of this kind


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      Why not use Microsofts Security Essentials. It's free and it integrates well with Windows 7. I only use the Windows 7 Firewall and MSE and have never had a problem. You can download MSE http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

    4. #3
      Azrael84's Avatar
      Azrael84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      Thanks I will use that for now at least. I'm just a bit miffed that I'm sort of paying for McAfee from sky and don't seem to be actually able to use it. Surely there must be lots of people on Win 7 by now, so can't see why they can't just sort it, alas.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      Download it direct from mcafee or try again from Sky. You aren't paying for it either, it's a free trial that Sky has an agreement with Mcafee on.
      I've just gone to sky.com, clicked on security center at the bottom and linked through to the download with no problems.
      http://mysky.sky.com/portal/site/sky...sswb&origin=sc
      It may be that (yet again) mcafee gave sky a version for the CD then updated the software due to issues but Sky can only offer that version through the download center for obvious reasons.

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      I'd stick with Microsoft's Security Essentials and Microsoft's Windows 7 Firewall. It's all you should need and you won't have any of these problems.

    7. #6
      Azrael84's Avatar
      Azrael84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Download it direct from mcafee or try again from Sky. You aren't paying for it either, it's a free trial that Sky has an agreement with Mcafee on.
      Well it's a 12 month "free trial" that I wouldn't be getting if I wasn't subscribing to sky bb, so in that way it's part of the package they offer and incentive for joining. Either way I would like the option to install it.

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      I've just gone to sky.com, clicked on security center at the bottom and linked through to the download with no problems.
      http://mysky.sky.com/portal/site/sky...sswb&origin=sc
      It may be that (yet again) mcafee gave sky a version for the CD then updated the software due to issues but Sky can only offer that version through the download center for obvious reasons.

      Yeah when I follow that link and log in etc, I get "McAfee. Sorry, this service currently unavailable, please try again later" as I have been getting since I started. It's really bizzare, like I said I'm pretty sure I have flash/java etc, I can watch flash movies/iplayer etc, and can play java games and so on, and I doubt very much that is the issue. Also I've tried numerous laptops/browswers/OS's just to elimanate those things now. As you report other people aren't having issues downloading either, so that leads me to believe it must be an issue with how sky have activated my account.

      Their CS still haven't got back to me despite saying 24hrs either, alas.

    8. #7
      avtech's Avatar
      avtech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01292
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      Major problems with McAfee for corporate users.
      Botched McAfee update shutting down corporate XP machines worldwide -- Engadget
      This is now being reported to be affecting personal users.

      I would get out of McAfee ASAP until they get it sorted ouy

    9. #8
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      Quote Originally Posted by avtech View Post
      Major problems with McAfee for corporate users.
      Botched McAfee update shutting down corporate XP machines worldwide -- Engadget
      This is now being reported to be affecting personal users.

      I would get out of McAfee ASAP until they get it sorted ouy
      I can confirm its hit both corporate and home users, i've spent the last couple of days sorting out a lot of machines at my workplace and also some home users. What a muck up by McAfee!

    10. #9
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Issues with Mcafee and win 7?

      sheesh bit defender now mcafee who's going to be next?

      Definately good idea to run windows 7 backup fortnightly
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION