Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

    This is a discussion on Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am using Sky Unlimited (20mb). The statistics are below: It was 1.5mbps, then i asked them to reconfigure , ...

    1. #1
      Zell Dinch's Avatar
      Zell Dinch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      I am using Sky Unlimited (20mb). The statistics are below:


      It was 1.5mbps, then i asked them to reconfigure , an it came out like that. I cannot test my ADSL in master socket, because my master socket look like this



      What should I do?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps-router.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      How many phone extensions do you have?

      Do they all have filters fitted as the very FIRST thing plugged into them?

      Make sure you don't use an extension lead to connect the router.

      Have you removed any wires in terminal 3 on the master socket? this is not required with modern phones and can cause issues.

      I would buy an NTE5 master socket and a filtered faceplate and fit them, only takes a few minutes and under 20, this will give you the best connection for ADSL that you can get. I would expect 6-7mb with a good line on this setup.

      A photograph of the wiring in your master socket would help.

    4. #3
      Zell Dinch's Avatar
      Zell Dinch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      I tried to open my master socket so all the wires came out. Then I tried to plugged them back to the terminals. Phone is not walking now but i don't care. I don't dare to open the master socket again, since the wires will come out again, it took me an hour to plug them back.

      About new NTE5 master socket, i though that we are not allowed change it ourselves?
      Btw, the Noise margin is 1db now

    5. #4
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      Zell Dinch
      Hi the photo the right side is the faceplate which fits over the master socket with 2 screws that you remove that is all. You will see the test socket. The centre of the faceplate goes into the test socket when the faceplate is reattached. If the wires have become loose look at this link Another Faceplate Wiring Question explains the wiring and where they go. Any questions

    6. #5
      Zell Dinch's Avatar
      Zell Dinch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      No that is not the test socket, because i cannot connect my ADSL wire to that socket. The ADSL wire must be connected to a microfilter which is connected to that socket. And yes, i looked at the thread, but my wires are different. Finally, I plugged the white wire in term 2 and yellow wire in term 5 and that worked.

      Btw, i moved my router next to the socket, then use a shorter wire without any extension, the speed went up.It's now like this



      But then since i'm using Unlimited package, should i get the speed about 10mb? And how can i check if DLM is running on my line?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps-router.jpg  

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      The test socket is a normal socket and you still have to use a filter in it. What the test socket does is isolate everything else on the line so that nothing else should work once the test socket is exposed.

    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      PaulSky
      Hi thanks forgot to mention the filter

      Zell Dinch
      Hi go to your my Sky account it will tell you there if DLM is running

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      Looks like it's capped to 4096/800 due to running the extension. If you keep it as it is, you could call sky and have the line uncapped. You'll probably end up around 7-8mbps or thereabouts as a rough guess.

    10. #9
      Zell Dinch's Avatar
      Zell Dinch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Looks like it's capped to 4096/800 due to running the extension. If you keep it as it is, you could call sky and have the line uncapped. You'll probably end up around 7-8mbps or thereabouts as a rough guess.
      I'm not using any extension at the moment. Still, the Line Attenuation is 45db. My house is 1.67km away from the exchange.Isn't it too high?

    11. #10
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited - 2123 kbps

      Zell Dinch
      Hi It depends on the route of the cable I read somewhere a house next door to the Exchange yet there Attenuation was really high. The cable started the other side of the Exchange and finished at the house that was next door. Here`s a bit about Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION