Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Wireless Security...

This is a discussion on Wireless Security... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, In the past 2 hours my USB adapter has dicovered 4 unsecured Sky networks!I am not an expert in ...

garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Wireless Security...

Hi,
      In the past 2 hours my USB adapter has dicovered 4 unsecured Sky networks!I am not an expert in wireless security by any means but have configured my LAN as follows in the hope it may help others secure there home networks.

This obviously wont suit everyone but it helps me sleep easier!

Changed Default Administrator Passwords
      Enabled WEP Encryption [32 characters]
      Changed the Default SSID
      Enabled MAC Address Filtering on Netgear router
      Restricted DHCP range to allow only 2 IPs [laptop & desktop]
      Block inbound traffic
      Enable outbound traffic on port 25, 80, 443 & 3389 [work purposes]
      Disabled SSID Broadcast
      Turned off the router when not in use
      Disabled C drive share & file & printer sharing
      Installed XP SP2 & Windows defender [Free]
      Enabled XP firewall
      Installed AVG or Avast AV [free]

Am I paranoid or are my fears real!!

G

MS defender
      http://www.microsoft.com/athome/secu...e/default.mspx
      AVG - http://free.grisoft.com/doc/1

2. Advertisement
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks
      Hi Gary

You will see that quite a lot I do around my area as well