Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

    This is a discussion on Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Last week I posted some respectable line stats after signing up with the Unlimited package on what is an ADSL2+ ...

    1. #1
      DeusXM's Avatar
      DeusXM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolwich
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      Last week I posted some respectable line stats after signing up with the Unlimited package on what is an ADSL2+ exchange - theoretically maxing up to 24Mbps.

      Obviously on initial sign-up with Sky, I was put on 4Mbps with the usual 'this will increase after DLM training'. So far so good.

      My package began on 29th March and now the Sky website is telling me line testing was completed on 4th April (less than the 10 days official testing period) and the line speed is only clocked at 8Mbps. I don't have router stats immediately to hand right now but from memory of checking this morning, the download line attenuation is about 23db and the noise margin's around 17db.

      I've interpreted this (correctly?) as assuming my line has more potential bandwidth available so I called Sky CTS as recommended elsewhere here to get the line manually set. They've told me that although the website might say line testing has finished, it's actually still going on and that the 'real' result will come through on 8th April, 10 days after my connection began.

      My question is, for your experiences, is this just a fob-off or can I expect to see more changes over the next few days?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      CST can tell you there and then if it's finished, as can anyone on Sky BB tech. The site could be wrong but the call should've put that to bed. Best thing is to call again and see what they say as chances are you spoke to Tier 1 and not CST...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      DeusXM's Avatar
      DeusXM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolwich
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      Ha! This just gets better and better. I gave Sky a call again as you suggested and explained once again that the line training had given an underperforming result and that I'd like the cap increased.

      So the CTS guy then asked me me if the router was plugged into the main socket. Yes. How many computers connect to the router? Two. Do you use them at the same time? Yes. Ah, so you see, sir, that is your problem. If you just use one computer at a time your connection will be faster.

      Yes, that's right. If your line's slow, Sky's first response is to tell you that you shouldn't ever use more than one computer on a broadband connection.

      After that I simply said "Look, my line attenuation is about 22db and I've got a noise margin of 18db. Can you just raise the cap please." That got his attention and he decided that he wasn't going to treat me like an idiot anymore.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      1. It's CST (Customer Solutions Team), and 2. that was NOT a CST agent you were speaking to - that's more like a Tier 1 agent as CST don't go through basic troubleshooting
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      ^ What he said. You're talking a script that tier 1 follow called 'mojo' at the moment.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      No, he spoke to an idiot that didn't listen to the issue. Obviously the T1 didn't bother checking the router stats or they would have seen the issue straight away. Agents like that need shooting.

    8. #7
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      No, he spoke to an idiot that didn't listen to the issue. Obviously the T1 didn't bother checking the router stats or they would have seen the issue straight away. Agents like that need shooting.
      alot of T1 agents dont know what router stats are. mentioning SNR or attenuation will baffle 90% of tier 1 :/

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      Yep, unfortunately they seem to think T1 agents would struggle to understand but if they were to give them basic information of what should be happening with target noise margin it would be a lot more useful and will allow better troubleshooting.
      One of my biggest issues with how T1 agents were trained was just the lack of basic instruction that would prove beneficial to customer and agent. Was glad to leave in the end due to this.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      The fact that Swish now shows these (IIRC) means that T1 should know what they mean...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky CTS telling the truth about DLM?

      Should.... big word that lol

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION