Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Own router

    This is a discussion on Own router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I know you are not supposed to use your own equipment, but say somebody did. Where would they get the ...

    1. #1
      foobsy's Avatar
      foobsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01355
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Own router

      I know you are not supposed to use your own equipment, but say somebody did. Where would they get the settings that seem to be hidden from us in the sky supplied router? i.e. the username / password sent to join the network etc.

      Some people might want to use wireless N instead of the wireless G that comes with the sky supplied router.

      Foobsy.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Own router

      well you get a user name and password from this certain site but why bother im waiting bt to upgrade me to fttc network upgrade so il get a new master socket and a new router with modem

    4. #3
      foobsy's Avatar
      foobsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01355
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Own router

      fttc network upgrade? Is that the fibre optic upgrades being rolled out for the 21cn? How did you find out when your exchange was getting done?

      Basically I'm starting to regret using Sky and not keeping faith in my old ISP I used at my old house. I was told I'd get 2.5mb down, I get half that. My neighbour on orange gets 4mb, another neighbour on O2 gets 3.7mb. I get 1.5mb. Rubbish. Download speeds over wireless are very very poor, but my PC can use wireless N. The router Sky game me supplies G only. Poor show.

    5. #4
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Own router

      yea its the fibre to the cabinet deployment thats been well deployed lol silly i dont know when my exchange is getten done think it will be 2011 when mine gets done what exchange is yours as bt named all the exchanges that were getten upgraded between now and the end of 2010 then there will be the remaining ones left i think so far they have done 193 out of 303 exchanges so far they say there doing pretty well with it. as for your speed sorry to hear the poor speeds i feel for you well im using my mothers laptop and i have a wireless n usb adapter and thats connected to a access point in same room but for some reason it still struggles to play youtube videos for some reason

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Own router

      Where would they get the settings that seem to be hidden from us in the sky supplied router? i.e. the username / password sent to join the network etc.
      Have a look in the Technical Section - Asking for help

      If you have any further queries about non-Sky routers please make them in that section.

      Ignore Deadmans comments, it will be a long time before EK gets fibre.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Own router

      hey thats not nice isitme joking i know ya only having a laugh

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Own router

      hey thats not nice isitme joking i know ya only having a laugh
      I am only half joking. Scotland, being the poor relation, has only half a dozen exchanges on the list. The OP's exchange is not one of them and neither is mine. It is no use telling someone what you hope to get when they have little chance of being upgraded for several years to come.

      No offence was meant to you, I was simply pointing out that what you had posted was irrelevant to the OP and that he should continue to try to improve his connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Own router

      oh hehe daft begger lol sorry isitme for posting so many topics and then not solving them

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION