Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Speed help

    This is a discussion on Speed help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all I moved to new build 2 months ago and 14 Feb ordered sky tv, phone and broadband. The ...

    1. #1
      anrorob's Avatar
      anrorob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Croydon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Speed help

      Hi all
      I moved to new build 2 months ago and 14 Feb ordered sky tv, phone and broadband.
      The broadband has been activated on 27.03 I don't know what took them so long but i finally have it.
      And here are my stats

      Connection Speed 761 kbps 753 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 29.3 db
      Noise Margin 6.7 db 10.5 db

      I bet I could get a faster connection in the middle of amazon jungle!!




      The ping is good though...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      I bet I could get a faster connection in the middle of amazon jungle!!
      Post your stats from the normal position and from the test socket in the Broadband Help section of the forum.
      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      anrorob's Avatar
      anrorob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Croydon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Todays stats

      Connection Speed 511 kbps 782 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 29.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 9.0 db

      And from the test socket

      Connection Speed 511 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 29.2 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 10.0 db

      Apparently I’ll be getting 4.2 Mbs after the 10 days. The problem is I have only 8 days to cancel the broadband if I’m not happy with it. And so far I’m not.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      If these stats are from your Test socket something is seriously wrong. There is no way you will get anything like 4.2Mb, you will be lucky to get 1Mb. Are you sure you removed the front plate from the master socket and used only the cable and filter supplied by Sky to plug into the socket behind it?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      anrorob's Avatar
      anrorob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Croydon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Post your stats from the normal position and from the test socket in the Broadband Help section of the forum.
      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket
      Yes I am sure. And to think that Virgin is only 300 meters away but are not alowed to run cables in the building.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      Can you check that when the master faceplate is removed none of your extensions have a dial tone. Quite often extensions are taken off the line before the master socket and this can cause problems.

      Also check that your voice line is quiet. Dial 1 digit and lisren, you should hear nothing but a very faint hiss.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      anrorob's Avatar
      anrorob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Croydon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      Done. No signal in other sockets.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      No signal in other sockets.
      That's a pity, it means the problem is in your external line or the router is faulty. I don't think Sky will do anything until the DLM training is up, so wait until the 10 days are past and if the speed has not improved, give them a ring

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      anrorob's Avatar
      anrorob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Croydon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      So after running on 0.3 Mb for few days I called Sky and they cancelled DLM and manualy set my speed

      My current stats

      Connection Speed 2496 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 13.0 db

      But can anyone explain me this ??????





      Why is myconnection better to server in Paris?????



      Even to NY is not bad. WHY???

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      But can anyone explain me this ??????
      That is what you should get with your sync speed!!! In saying that, speedtest.net is not at all consistent. Try using http://www.skyuser.co.uk/speedtester/

      Your sync speed is still very poor, but if the problem is in the external line it is difficult to get anything done. Your attenuation with a good line would give you 6-7Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION