Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Has anyone any idea what is going on ?

    This is a discussion on Has anyone any idea what is going on ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have an interesting scenario; my internet usage had dramatically increased over the last 6 weeks. Despite tying down my ...

    1. #1
      aeroreg's Avatar
      aeroreg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01426
      Broadband ISP: everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Has anyone any idea what is going on ?

      I have an interesting scenario; my internet usage had dramatically increased over the last 6 weeks.
      Despite tying down my wireless connection the 3 MAC address for the systems we own. I do not broadcast my SID my security is set on WPA-802 despite these measures and by internet habits not changing I was upped automatically from base to everyday. Then yesterday from everyday to unlimited! all within 4 week period.
      Each time I call SKY I am told that the stats are 24 hrs behind and you must have a virus on you PC. I told them that when I had no connection for 3 day’s while I waited for a replacement modem I used 3 Gb of my allowance, again was told stats are 24 hrs behind and you must have a virus on you PC. Oh the replacement modem was DOA but the old one started working the day we signed for the replacement.
      Today I have no internet connection from my router, yet the SKY team tell me there is activity on my switch therefore you must have a Trojan virus on your PC. But the pc is switched off and I am phoning from work how this is possible? Ah sorry you need to be with you pc for us to help you.
      Has anyone any idea what is going on ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Has anyone any idea what is going on ?

      Nest time you are ringing, unplug the router and see what they can see from their end then, I wonder if they have the wrong details on screen.

    4. #3
      aeroreg's Avatar
      aeroreg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01426
      Broadband ISP: everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Has anyone any idea what is going on ?

      The router is unplugged from the mains and the RJ11 is out also so effectively it should not bee seen on the switch. My usage was 9.35 GB last night at 20:10 at 29 March 2010 21:34 Your Sky Broadband has been automatically upgraded. Picked this up at work on web mail. I feel conned!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Has anyone any idea what is going on ?

      I was upped automatically from base to everyday. Then yesterday from everyday to unlimited! all within 4 week period.
      This in itself is wrong. If you were upgraded from Base to Everyday, you cannot be upgraded again for at least 2 months. Sky have made a mistake there and need to correct it.

      I would guess that there is a line crossed somewhere if your connection is showing as being used when it is disconnected. Surely they cannot be ignorant enough to think that a trojan can use your PC when it and the router are switched off.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      aeroreg's Avatar
      aeroreg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01426
      Broadband ISP: everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Has anyone any idea what is going on ?

      I spent 1 ˝ hours talking to sky last night, eventually the agent agreed that my usage from October was 2.3, 15, 21 then 17 Gb in Feb something was wrong! I was offered the opportunity to speak to a agent up on level. As my router would not let me into the setting page it was telling me that “Another Administrator online” we eventually manage to reset and switch off the wireless connection but the router was back to being called SKYxxxx and no MAC filtering was setup. IE the router was at default. I will be getting a replacement router sent FOC as the agent thinks my connection has been hijacked. I will be writing to SKY regarding this issue as I am concerned that MY account has had gigabytes of data pass though which I have know knowledge of the content. For all I know it was possibly highly illegal, this could leave me out on a limb. Well thanks for the input I just though that I would give a final résumé of the outcome, Oh its only taken 6 weeks to convince SKY I have an issue!

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Has anyone any idea what is going on ?

      Did you change the default network key? This is a security risk in the DG834GT as an outside can find out your key from the MAC address and gain entrance to your router. This applies especially if you have not also changed the router login password. You should also turn of Remote Management.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      aeroreg's Avatar
      aeroreg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01426
      Broadband ISP: everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Has anyone any idea what is going on ?

      Yep all those measures wer taken

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION