Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Seriously?

    This is a discussion on Seriously? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky is taking the absolute mick now, Connection Speed 528 kbps 764 kbps Line Attenuation 58 db 30 db Noise ...

    1. #1
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Angry Seriously?

      Sky is taking the absolute mick now,

      Connection Speed 528 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58 db 30 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 8 db

      surely thats not right? Yesturday I was getting speeds much faster than that. What on earth is Sky doing to my broadband.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      can you post your stats from your test socket please? details in my signature

    4. #3
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      When i connect to the test socket nothing happens, Cant connect to the internet, just a annoying orange blinking light on my router.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      Quote Originally Posted by SOF006 View Post
      When i connect to the test socket nothing happens, Cant connect to the internet, just a annoying orange blinking light on my router.
      What are you connecting to the test socket?

      Any noise on your phone line?

      Running any extension cables from the socket?

    6. #5
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      What are you connecting to the test socket?

      Any noise on your phone line?

      Running any extension cables from the socket?
      I am connecting the ADSL filter supplied with the Sky Router, When I pick up the phone and dial a digit I get a faint hissing noise followed by a quiet pop, I am using no extension cables at all.

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      If you haven't already, it may be worth swapping over for a different filter.

      Also, plug a corded phone directly into the test socket and dial 17070 then option 2 to do a quiet line test. Are any crackles/static or pops at all? If so, you're looking at a landline fault and you'll need to contact whoever you pay your line rental to.

    8. #7
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      If you haven't already, it may be worth swapping over for a different filter.

      Also, plug a corded phone directly into the test socket and dial 17070 then option 2 to do a quiet line test. Are any crackles/static or pops at all? If so, you're looking at a landline fault and you'll need to contact whoever you pay your line rental to.
      Well it shouldn't be the filter should it? Its a brand new router and brand new filter, Got Sky broadband a few weeks ago now, Ill try the Phone test and see what happens ill post an update when im done.

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      Swapping the filter and checking whether the router actually syncs (and whether the SNR/speeds shoot up to where they were previously) would be worth doing as you more than likely have two spare that sky gave you and it's quick and easy to rule out. It's the nature of technology; the filter could be faulty, so it's just process of elimination at this point.

    10. #9
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      I am hearing some little pops and some static but not loads, Im going to ring sky tomorrow and see if they can fix it, I would do today but its a sunday and sky doesn't answer calls on a sunday.

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      Yes, they do. Unless I was the only one taking calls earlier. 08442410515 if you pay line rental to sky as it seems you have a pstn fault on your hands, which will affect the bb itself. You'll need to chat to sky talk technical.

      Otherwise, if you pay line rental to BT, then 0800800151.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION