Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Seriously?

    This is a discussion on Seriously? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by User05 Yes, they do. Unless I was the only one taking calls earlier. 08442410515 if you pay ...

    1. #11
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Yes, they do. Unless I was the only one taking calls earlier. 08442410515 if you pay line rental to sky as it seems you have a pstn fault on your hands, which will affect the bb itself. You'll need to chat to sky talk technical.

      Otherwise, if you pay line rental to BT, then 0800800151.
      They do? Well then ill give them a call now and see what they can do, Also before I do could you tell me what those other options do on that number you told me to ring before, 170 something. There were something like 3 or 4 other options


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      I do know there are other options, such as call back test and such, but in all honesty I'm not too clued up on what the benefits of the other options are.

      But, yeah, sky are open 24/7. If you're definitely hearing some pops during the quiet line test with only a corded phone directly into the test socket, then it'll be up to your line rental provider to sort it. If you're with sky, then call up that number I gave you and get through to sky talk technical. Stay in the test socket with the corded phone to eliminate any troubleshooting that may be asked of you.

    4. #13
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      Will do, Thank for your help. Ill get back to you when my problems have vanished, I hope this doesn't result in Sky shutting my internet off at all because im going to need it throughout next week.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      When i connect to the test socket nothing happens,
      The test socket is the main connection to the phone line. If that is not working there are only 2 reasons 1) Your socket is wired incorrectly and 2) The socket has some residue in it preventing your plug making a connection. For the latter, slide the plug in and out a few times, a squirt of WD40 on it often helps in the cleaning.

      Can't remember if it effects you, but if you have been moved to Sky's 'state of the art' network, this can have a bad effect on connections.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      Ok? this is even more strange
      Connection Speed 0 kbps 0 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51 db 30 db
      Noise Margin 2147483647 db 11 db

      I dont think my noise margin should be doing that, also now I can only connect to the internet when my phone is in use when it is turned off that happens (the stats above)

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      that means it gone into negative figures so definitely something wrong...

      and don't assume that just cause something is brand new out of the box it cant go wrong
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Seriously?

      now I can only connect to the internet when my phone is in use when it is turned off that happens (the stats above)
      That is an indication of a high resistance fault, probably a bad joint in the line somewhere. The extra 'juice' generated by the phone 'jumps the gap' so to speak and enables the broadband to connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION