Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26

    Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

    This is a discussion on Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hmm, somehow the new stats are worse - perhaps the new stats were not from the test socket? As Isitme ...

    1. #21
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Hmm, somehow the new stats are worse - perhaps the new stats were not from the test socket? As Isitme suggested, plug into the test socket and re-post the stats. Regarding the noise issue:

      Get a new filter (don't worry about 'new' if you've already previously swapped for another) straight into the test socket and then the light grey dsl cable sky supplied into the filter and your phone obviously. Check whether the noise is there. If so, then unplug the grey dsl cable. If the noise disappears, then it's probably a faulty router and/or dsl cable and you'll need sky to send you out a replacement.

      If the noise is still apparent on the phone line without the dsl cable connected, then plug in a corded phone into the test socket without any filters etc., just simply the phone line directly into the test socket. If the noise is still apparent there, then the issue is with your line rental provider. If that's BT, assuming so from the previous posts, then you'll have to get in contact with them again - 0800 800151.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      bacardi's Avatar
      bacardi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Quote Originally Posted by vanilla View Post

      another guy goes through the routine lark, tries to discount my knowledge on using a broadband service.

      Sorry but i feel the guy on the end of the phone was right, you had a connection at 6336kbps and now 5020kbps, yet claim it is faster. Others have asked you to post results from your test socket, but you continue to ignore them. What type of main bt socket do you have (does it have a couple of little screws in the front?) as you will need to test from there without the extensions being connected

    4. #23
      p0tn00dl3's Avatar
      p0tn00dl3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Not having knowlege of the of in's and out's of a BT phone socket does not make you a novice in the use of DSL internet Just a lack of knowlege in the testing procedure which i might add from listening to a good few tech spiels in my time dont usually cover the test socket as this is considered too technical for the monkeys that man the phones. Also having injoyed the stupidity of BTopens engineers on more than one occasion the potential that they simply couldnt be bothered doing proper testing (which involves a trip to the exchange box or actual exchanage ) and just changed the socket is very likely.

      My suggestion STOP PAYING PENUTS for your internet. Go to a good ISP like IDNET or PlusNet or Zen where the techs know what theyre talking about and theres none of this fair user peak time bullcrud (well not with IDNET anyway). you have a download cap but if you go over it they will let you know and charge you accordingly every month, you pay a little more but its well worth it. If you want to pay penuts then expect to get a service to match. changing aint that hard just get a MAC code( i think they still call it that though i havent had to change ISP for a few years) from sky, get them to drop it from your package supply the mac code to the new ISP you shouldnt even lose a day.

      The answer to your woes are that SKY Dsl Has been going downhill over the last few years its the same old stuff. Over subscription + lack of investment in larger Pipes = Slow speeds, FUA's the AOL curse it happend to talk talk it'll happen to 02. So pay that little more and get a decent connection, with decent support and then you wont have to fall back on forums such as this okay crazy rant over

    5. #24
      puskas's Avatar
      puskas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028256
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      For a start wouldn't touch PUSNET worst ISP I was ever with.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      The answer to your woes are that SKY Dsl Has been going downhill over the last few years its the same old stuff. Over subscription + lack of investment in larger Pipes = Slow speeds, FUA's the AOL curse it happend to talk talk it'll happen to 02. So pay that little more and get a decent connection, with decent support and then you wont have to fall back on forums such as this okay crazy rant over
      Rubbish!!! Sky LLU is one of the best value broadband services available, the Unlimited package having no FUP whatsoever and none of the packages are throttled. Probably the only ones at the moment offering better is BE/O2, only because they have better technical backup. All the ones you mention are use a rebadged BT product, the same as Sky Connect and are throttled to some extent unless you pay an extortionate amount for the connection. Why don't you mention cable, which you appear to be using, which should be better than any ADSL connection?

      The OP has a problem with his internal wiring and will get nowhere with any ISP until he fixes it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Quote Originally Posted by p0tn00dl3 View Post
      Not having knowlege of the of in's and out's of a BT phone socket does not make you a novice in the use of DSL internet Just a lack of knowlege in the testing procedure which i might add from listening to a good few tech spiels in my time dont usually cover the test socket as this is considered too technical for the monkeys that man the phones. Also having injoyed the stupidity of BTopens engineers on more than one occasion the potential that they simply couldnt be bothered doing proper testing (which involves a trip to the exchange box or actual exchanage ) and just changed the socket is very likely.

      My suggestion STOP PAYING PENUTS for your internet. Go to a good ISP like IDNET or PlusNet or Zen where the techs know what theyre talking about and theres none of this fair user peak time bullcrud (well not with IDNET anyway). you have a download cap but if you go over it they will let you know and charge you accordingly every month, you pay a little more but its well worth it. If you want to pay penuts then expect to get a service to match. changing aint that hard just get a MAC code( i think they still call it that though i havent had to change ISP for a few years) from sky, get them to drop it from your package supply the mac code to the new ISP you shouldnt even lose a day.

      The answer to your woes are that SKY Dsl Has been going downhill over the last few years its the same old stuff. Over subscription + lack of investment in larger Pipes = Slow speeds, FUA's the AOL curse it happend to talk talk it'll happen to 02. So pay that little more and get a decent connection, with decent support and then you wont have to fall back on forums such as this okay crazy rant over
      If the OP has a problem with noise on the pstn line or internal wiring problems, then it's not going to get any better with a 'good' ISP.

      P.S. I work for sky and I'm not a 'monkey' that mans the phone.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION