Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

    This is a discussion on Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Where is your main socket and is there a filter on the socket with the phone?...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Where is your main socket and is there a filter on the socket with the phone?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      vanilla's Avatar
      vanilla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Main socket is downstairs.The phone is connected to that. Only thing interrupting the phone to be solely connected to the socket is a little adapter which provides a line to the HD box to. Nothing more.

      I have a telephone socket upstairs in the study and connect the router to that. All connected via Sky supplies.

    4. #13
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      The main socket needs a filter too-the filter should go in FIRST, then plug the sky break in adaptor into that & the phone into that. You can plug the sky break in adaptor first but that way you need either a double adaptor to plug the phone and sky box in(via the filter) or an additional filter at the Sky box end.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #14
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      can you also post stats with the router plugged into the master/test socket downstairs?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      You should be able to get about double the speed you have or the full 10Mb on Everyday, so something is causing noise on the line. Please post the stats from the TEST socket, It may be a hassle if you don't have a laptop, or can borrow one, but that is the only way to properly diagnose your problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      vanilla's Avatar
      vanilla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Hi Guys,

      Just wanna say a quick thanks to all that replied.

      Had some interference on the telephone line for some time now - nothing huge, and since I don't use landline so much, never bothered to check it out. I was on the phone (funnily enough to Sky) a few days ago and found the sound unbearable so decided to up and change the telephone. Turns out it was never the phone. Called BT up and they acknowledged a fault on the line. BT reckon this causing the disruption with the internet as well. Will know for definite on Wednesday.

      Just thought I'd let you guys know incase anyone has similar problems.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Had some interference on the telephone line for some time now - nothing huge
      What is just an inconvenience on the voice line, can make a huge difference to broadband. Let's hope you get it sorted and get the speed you should.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      vanilla's Avatar
      vanilla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      BT guy came out today with no prior notice - seems to have sorted the issue. Internet is much faster and phone line is clear. I asked the guy what the issue was, he was a bit narky. Ended up telling me how he is doing me a favour as the issue is internal and he should really be charging me 160 for coming out etc. Really frustrated us! I tried my best to get out of him what exactly should he really be charging 160 for - all he said was there was a fault in the box??? Then he told me that it is likely the fault will occur again? Really mad with his stinking attitude!

      All I saw him do was change the master socket and reconnect the wires? Anyone know how he has foreseen the issue to arise again?


      These are my new stats:


      And these are old:

      Quote Originally Posted by vanilla View Post
      Looked at the link and obtained the following stats:

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      These are worse than you had previously

      How about plugging into the Test socket? That is the only way you are going to get to the bottom of this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      vanilla's Avatar
      vanilla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Before I leave Sky Broadband, can anyone help?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      These are worse than you had previously

      How about plugging into the Test socket? That is the only way you are going to get to the bottom of this.
      Seriously? Works miles better. Or I might be thinking so, as when I posted the first set of stats I was on my day off and posted it during the day when speed was good. Evenings have been the real nightmare and thus far all seems good.

      So I should plug my microfilter into my test socket and see how goes? Task for tomorrow.

      To continue my ongoing saga... after BT man left the phone line was still crackly. So I started to investigate. Turns out that when the router is in use in the bedroom telephone socket the phone line goes crackly. So moved router downstairs for now, till we get to the bottom of it.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION