Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Distance from Exchange

    This is a discussion on Distance from Exchange within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I have done some hunting around and it would appear I am 3.7km from the exchange as the crow ...

    1. #1
      simpic's Avatar
      simpic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Farnborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Distance from Exchange

      Hello,

      I have done some hunting around and it would appear I am 3.7km from the exchange as the crow flies. But I think I am a lot more as the cable goes, maybe like 5.2km.

      My router stats are: -

      System Up Time: 365:33:05

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 316458 513278 0 680 51000 136:08:29
      LAN 1558350 1588907 0 2787 1864 365:33:05
      WLAN 807481 175972 0 54146 3437 365:32:38
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 461 kbps 379 kbps
      Line Attenuation 71.5 db 42.2 db
      Noise Margin 8.9 db 9.0 db

      MAX speed is around 400k atm. This is with the router plugged into the test socket and nothing else plugged in.

      Should I be able to get anything more with this NM & LA ? Or am I living in a bad area, despite being in the middle of a urban built up area!

      Regards,

      Simon
      Last edited by simpic; 23-03-10 at 08:50 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Distance from Exchange

      Hi simpic,
      Have a look here to give you some idea

      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained

      I'm not up on things as most of the guys on here but it's a start untill some1 else reply to you
      paul

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Distance from Exchange

      With that attenuation, you are lucky to get anything, is was not too long ago that BT would refuse ADSL on lines like yours.

      If you have tried the TEST socket and have no noise on your voice line then you really are doing about the best you can.

    5. #4
      simpic's Avatar
      simpic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Farnborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Distance from Exchange

      Thanks Smithy99,

      That is kind of what I thought.

      Is it worth putting a call in to BT to see if they can improve the attenuation?

      Regards,

      Simon

    6. #5
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Distance from Exchange

      Quote Originally Posted by simpic View Post
      Thanks Smithy99,

      That is kind of what I thought.

      Is it worth putting a call in to BT to see if they can improve the attenuation?

      Regards,

      Simon
      No. BT cannot improve your attenuation, its the length of your line. even if BT were to give you a new line to the exchange(as if) the exchange isnt going to move closer to your house so your attenuation wont improve.

      theres no point complaining to sky or BT about it, they will tell you the same thing.. your lucky to get broadband. post your stats from the test socket as Smithy suggested though and see if there's any change in the noise margin

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Distance from Exchange

      Maybe some have missed that you said "This is with the router plugged into the test socket and nothing else plugged in."

      There is no point in calling BT, they will just refer you back to your ISP. What you can do is call Sky and ask them to try your line on G.DMT (ADSL1) With your distance from the exchange it may not matter and may even make things worse. You might even be on it now. Not long ago you would not even have been considered for broadband, even today some ISPs would turn you down. The only way you will get anything faster is to get a satellite system, which can be quite expensive, or 3g broadband.
      3G Broadband Price Comparison - Mobile Broadband

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION