Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    Please check my line stats...

    This is a discussion on Please check my line stats... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, So just a few days a go, I signed up for sky-broadband I had taken the whole bundle ...

    1. #1
      RoughNerd's Avatar
      RoughNerd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Heckmondwike
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Please check my line stats...

      Hi there,

      So just a few days a go, I signed up for sky-broadband I had taken the whole bundle HDTV + PHONE +BB I just received my Sagam modem today...

      Anyway I am currently with AOL/Carephone: These are my current states with AOL/Carphone:

      On very cheap extension line and socket.


      Speed TEST:


      TIME OF DAY: 13:06 Monday.


      Link to my exchange: http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/MYHEC

      I live very close to the exchange, in fact I can see it from my window, it is about a quarter of a km away.

      With the current AOL/Carephone package I get upto 8meg... Which is pretty consistent. Sometimes I easily get 7meg downloading torrents etc, or using firefox download manger.

      I am pretty happy with my current AOL connection. But I needed a speed increase so I figured I would go for Virgin on 50meg fiber optic, but I was offered a really good deal from sky so I took the sky offer up...

      What speeds will I get on Sky unlimited, just on the bases of the stats I have posted...
      Last edited by RoughNerd; 22-03-10 at 02:28 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      16Mbps+
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      Possibly 19-20Mbs, but you may have to do some work on your internal wiring. Sky use ADSLL2+ which requires a 'cleaner' line than ADSL1, which you are on at the moment. Any problems with your internal wiring will be magnified.

      This assumes you will be on a Sky LLU connection. If you are on Connect, you will be worse of than you are. As your exchange is enabled it would be for a temporary period, if at all.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      The exchange is enabled and they're on ADSL2+ as they're on the CPW LLU network - just shows differently to Sky
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      I did not think all AOL connections had been moved to ADSL2+ as they still only offer an 8Mb download. I doubt if CPW have sufficient connections to put everyone they have taken over on the LLU network. You may well be correct, but the OP did say 'On very cheap extension line' which will not help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      Might be going on the assumption that speedtest.net shows the network carrier as it did before (Connect showed as BT Wholesale)...if this has changed then they could be on the BT Network.

      go to Test Result and see if you can run the test, will soon find out!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      RoughNerd's Avatar
      RoughNerd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Heckmondwike
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      Thanks guys. OK the link above does not work, maybe because sky are testing my line or something, should I have I already cancelled with AOL? As, if Sky are testing my line I am already connected to the internet from the line which is being tested.

      Also as for the issue of wires, I am also having a line transfer to sky, so I will be connected without a extension cable. I would be slightly disappointed if I did not get at least 10meg. But on the whole I am hoping for a upload increase.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      If Sky are testing the line then you're live with Sky - plug your Sky router and off you go...if you're still on AOL/CPW and you can't run that test the you're on the CPW network as I said before
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      RoughNerd's Avatar
      RoughNerd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Heckmondwike
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I did not think all AOL connections had been moved to ADSL2+ as they still only offer an 8Mb download. I doubt if CPW have sufficient connections to put everyone they have taken over on the LLU network. You may well be correct, but the OP did say 'On very cheap extension line' which will not help.
      I don't know about this, but I just pay a bill to AOL as I actually got my broadband from carephone wearhoue, well here is what I get:

      Hostname: host-92-11-247-32.as43234.net
      ISP: Carphone Warehouse Broadband Services
      Organization: Carphone Warehouse Broadband Services
      Proxy: None detected
      Type: Broadband
      Assignment: Static IP

    11. #10
      RoughNerd's Avatar
      RoughNerd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Heckmondwike
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please check my line stats...

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      If Sky are testing the line then you're live with Sky - plug your Sky router and off you go...if you're still on AOL/CPW and you can't run that test the you're on the CPW network as I said before
      Yes I can't run the test, I was assuming sky would be testing my line, as the engineer is coming tomorrow, to do the TV and Phone line. I just don't want to be d/c from the internet at any time, this is why I have not cancelled my AOL/CPW.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION