Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Highest speed I can get?

    This is a discussion on Highest speed I can get? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Sky moved me up to unlimited not long ago (probably 1-3 days ago). Heres my current stats: Can someone ...

    1. #1
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Highest speed I can get?

      Hi, Sky moved me up to unlimited not long ago (probably 1-3 days ago).

      Heres my current stats:


      Can someone project the highest amount I could get?

      Thank you!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      You have noise on the line it would be worth trying the test socket. On a good line you could get close to 8Mb.

    4. #3
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      You have noise on the line it would be worth trying the test socket. On a good line you could get close to 8Mb.
      Yeah the noise varies quite abit. It was 4.5 yesterday for the downstream.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      Have you moved house since this post - 20MB but line can only take 4MB ? your attenuation has dropped an awful lot. Are these from the Test socket? If not please post them from there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Have you moved house since this post - 20MB but line can only take 4MB ? your attenuation has dropped an awful lot. Are these from the Test socket? If not please post them from there.
      No I havent.
      Ill post the stats from the test socket soon.

      Stats changed abit yet again today:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5436 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.5 db 25.4 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 12.5 db

    7. #6
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      i was syncing at 7.6 mbps on ADSL and 7 - 8.5 mbps on ADSL2 i have the exact same line attenuation as you.
      anyway, now ive been moved to SVBN, my speed has dropped 1 - 1.5mbps

      my most ive got and this was in the morning is 7.1mbps, at night i synced at 6.3mbps, i used to sync at around 6.9mbps at night
      i think this new network has degraded my line!!

    8. #7
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7136 kbps 864 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 24.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 14.0 db

    9. #8
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      Yet another change:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5024 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.5 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.6 db 12.5 db

    10. #9
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      Results from master test socket:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5024 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.5 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.7 db 12.0 db

      please help,
      thanks.

    11. #10
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Highest speed I can get?

      Current master socket results:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5024 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.5 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.0 db 13.5 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION