Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 56

    Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

    This is a discussion on Not a happy bunny...what can i do? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Steve, have a read over the thread - there's been 3 sfi engineers and 2 new routers sent out by ...

    1. #11
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      Steve, have a read over the thread - there's been 3 sfi engineers and 2 new routers sent out by sky, so all the internal wiring checks etc. have been exhausted I'd imagine at this point.

      OP, if sky have said that's as far as they'll go regarding the ticket you raised, then it's a bit of a tricky situation. Before the ticket is closed, I'd advise telling them to change your line code to g.dmt to make it a little bit more stable/slightly quicker, as it would seem you're currently on adsl2plus, used for shorter/less noisy lines.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      User05
      Hi yes I just thought that after reading
      And if the problem is a split pair like the engineer suggested,then it isnt just me that will be suffering.The knock on effect of the wiring could be affecting many people and apparantley the engineer had been out to someone recently further along in the village with the same problem so it points to that being the cause. the issue is going to escalate
      no phone call so i phoned them back and discovered the reason the engineer had not come out was that bt had no spare space at the junction box to change my connection so they just cancelled it.(nice of sky to let me know...NOT!!)
      discovered the problem to be a fault with the bt wires from the junction box a few hundred metres away and my house
      however he said the problem was what he thought was a "split pair" on the wiring but he did not have time to fix it so i would have to phone sky and he would put his report to them to help get it fixed asap.
      As Sky is the ISP and the problem stems from the Cabinet the issues is outside and it needs repairing without the repair the connection could get worse

    4. #13
      si69's Avatar
      si69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      Thanks for the input guys its really appreciated.User05,unfortunately when i spoke to sky yesterday they said they were closing the ticket as there is nothing they could do about it,and steve yeah i know the problem stems from the cabinet and needs repairing,that was my original point ha ha,however its what i can do about it thats the problem.Im now stuck with a crappy internet speed because of it and it seems i cant tdo anything to solve it

    5. #14
      si69's Avatar
      si69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      As i posted the stats as requested,do they point to anything that may be of help (just incase thge problem is not with the wiring from the box to home) because to be honest ive been told that much crap and that many different things of what people think the problem is,i dont belkieve a word of it anymore.Hoping you guys might be able to help.Thanks again

    6. #15
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      A bit drastic and no guarantee it will work, but you could get a 2nd line installed then get bb moved onto the new line, once your all done cancel old line.

      Although it is shocking Openreach are not interested in fixing there own local loop,
      I take it this is having no effect on the voice-line quality so you cant approach it via your
      phone provider.

    7. #16
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      If there is a space shortage in the local cab where are they going to install the new line from? This issue is down to BT not wanting to spend money, it sounds like the whole cab needs replacing but that costs a lot and takes a lot of engineer time to sort.
      Maybe an email to the BT CEO office setting out the issue, the refusal to repair etc and then a complaint to OFCOM might help but as long as BT are supplying a working voice line I think they are covered here
      Try ian.livingston@bt.com for a start.

    8. #17
      si69's Avatar
      si69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      Thanks for the help guys.I may try to get on to sky again today.To be honest,no one from bt has actually been out to investigate to see if this is a problem,just the last engineer who "suspected " it was a split pair and thus put his report in to sky.
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 101 137 0 337 2686 00:00:46
      LAN 100M/Full 719 0 0 10 0 02:40:56
      WLAN 11M/54M 4506 3873 0 382 83 02:40:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1739 kbps 989 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 8 db

      Dont know if it helps steve,but as requested,my results from the test socket...thanks again

    9. #18
      si69's Avatar
      si69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      Just a thought aswell....if indeed it was a split pair,would i not notice any other symptoms on the line such as interference with phone calls,crossed calls etc?

    10. #19
      si69's Avatar
      si69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      Just a follow on guys,today i lost my internet connection and had to reset the router before it would come back on.Now when i have checked the speed it is even worse than before.These are from the test socket



      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 15470 20937 0 306 2927 02:08:49
      LAN 100M/Full 1199 0 0 22 0 02:10:42
      WLAN 11M/54M 21901 17126 0 2992 327 02:10:29
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1216 kbps 256 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50 db 29 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 13 db

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Not a happy bunny...what can i do?

      but your SNR has doubled so you can get another 1-2Mbps now...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION