Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Broadband Outage SS8 Area

    This is a discussion on Broadband Outage SS8 Area within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone confirm broadband outage at the Canvey Island Exchange SS8 area. Been down about an hour now....

    1. #1
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      Can anyone confirm broadband outage at the Canvey Island Exchange SS8 area. Been down about an hour now.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      Call Sky and ask?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Call Sky and ask?
      I'd likely get an answer quicker here.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      It'd take 30 seconds for Sky to tell you as they just have to look on the faults board - could've called and found out by the time you've read this!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      Last time the exchange went down. Sky support told me I had too many open connections in Netstat and likely I have a virus. When the exchange came back up, someone on here from Sky confirmed my exchange was down. Support are a bunch of removed.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      Well, I take offence to that - and I left Sky CST 6 months ago!!

      Might have been that you got a new agent but all you have ask is for them to check the faults board for an outage on your exchange. What's the point finding out there's an issue once it's back up?!?!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      Just looked up their support numbers: Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Services

      9 to connect and 50p a minute. Is that right?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      I understand frustrations etc but as per our policy on zero tolerance I have removed the offending word.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Well, I take offence to that - and I left Sky CST 6 months ago!!

      Might have been that you got a new agent but all you have ask is for them to check the faults board for an outage on your exchange. What's the point finding out there's an issue once it's back up?!?!

      You're CST. I didn't get that far.

      Yes there is no point in knowing the exchange was down after the fact. Which begs the question why I wasn't told when I called Sky support. check my history, I think it was you that told me this info is staring them in the face at the bottom/top of their screens. Instead I spent the rest of the day Virus scanning!

      Yes I'm a disgruntled Sky user and am ditching them by the end of the month after 3 years loyalty, which has ended with my broadband sub increasing 50%.

    11. #10
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Outage SS8 Area

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul N View Post
      Just looked up their support numbers: Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Services

      9 to connect and 50p a minute. Is that right?

      Seriously, tell me I've got that wrong!

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION