Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Slow on Unlimited

    This is a discussion on Slow on Unlimited within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am on sky bb unlimited but I am only getting ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 1792 kbps 416 ...

    1. #1
      Mooresey's Avatar
      Mooresey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Swadlincote, Derbyshire
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow on Unlimited

      I am on sky bb unlimited but I am only getting

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1792 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 9.0 db

      Connected to the master socket but it is an old one circa 1983 -85. Asked bt if they would be able to fit a new style one and how much it would cost. They said that the fitting would be free but the socket would be 70ish. Would having the old socket make a difference to the speed?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Mooresey View Post
      I am on sky bb unlimited but I am only getting

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1792 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 9.0 db

      Connected to the master socket but it is an old one circa 1983 -85. Asked bt if they would be able to fit a new style one and how much it would cost. They said that the fitting would be free but the socket would be 70ish. Would having the old socket make a difference to the speed?
      I'm surprised OR didn't change the socket for an NTE5 when they came out as this is usually one of the first things done when Sky send them out - might be worth calling Sky again as if it's ongoing it'll likely be with Escalations (unless process has changed since I left last year)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      Fitting free but socket 70??!! Supply your own then

      NTE5 BT Openreach Type Socket (NTE5A with bellwire filter)
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      the fitting would be free but the socket would be 70ish
      They must have started using solid gold ones.

      Depending on your internal wiring, it could make a big difference. Replacing it yourself is against BT regulations, but fairly easy to do and much cheaper.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Mooresey's Avatar
      Mooresey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Swadlincote, Derbyshire
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Fitting free but socket 70??!! Supply your own then

      NTE5 BT Openreach Type Socket (NTE5A with bellwire filter)

      I thought that, I asked the bloke if I could supply the m/s and have them fit it but he said no that would not be possible.

      Of course I said I dont think I will be having that thanks.

      I have emailed sky and will ask them about swapping the m/s.
      Last edited by Mooresey; 17-03-10 at 06:09 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION