Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Advice with broadband

    This is a discussion on Advice with broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm a recent subscriber to the Sky Broadband Unlimited option starting on 09/03/10. I was aware that a DLM ...

    1. #1
      TonyAbraham's Avatar
      TonyAbraham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Advice with broadband

      Hi,

      I'm a recent subscriber to the Sky Broadband Unlimited option starting on 09/03/10. I was aware that a DLM test would be in place and my line would be fluctuating. Over the passed few days my line has been capped at a mere 4mb download and 0.4mb upload and to my knowledge there were no tests in place. I phoned up sky and was put through to the techies who said he can suspend the DLM and can set my speed to 20mb down and 1mb up. This went fine and dandy apart from the line not being very stable at all. Is there something I can do to stabilise my line more? I dont have a clue about line line attenuation or noise margin so if someone would be kind enough to help. As I couldn't attach a picture of my router stats I've put an image shack link. Thanks very much

      http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/8493/skystats.png


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      Are you in your master socket, or better still test socket?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      TonyAbraham's Avatar
      TonyAbraham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      No just the standard socket. I'll put it in the test socket now and post my stats.

    5. #4
      TonyAbraham's Avatar
      TonyAbraham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      Ok just tried it in the test socket and not much change by the looks of things.

      http://img695.imageshack.us/img695/1913/skystats2.png

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      Just copy and paste them, don't waste time uploading images, which will eventually disappear. If you really want to add the image use the function available on the forum. It will not then disappear.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      Is there something I can do to stabilise my line more?
      You could ask them to put DLM on your line, this is what it is supposed to do. Alternately ask them to cap your line down a bit more, setting it below 18Mb might solve the problem.

      If you do have the DG834GT, we can tell you how to cap it yourself.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      TonyAbraham's Avatar
      TonyAbraham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      Yeah i have that router, presumably its the standard sky router?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      Sky have 3 'standard' routers 2 Netgears and a Sagem. The GT is white, the others are black/grey. Which one do you have?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      TonyAbraham's Avatar
      TonyAbraham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      The black one. The box says a netgear DG934G so guess not. Any other tricks I can do? What speed should I expect to receive of those stats too? Thanks again.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Advice with broadband

      If you have the DG934G, you might be able to use the Sky Router Tool, click the link at the bottom of my sig. Some of the functions work with the 934, I am not sure whether the Target Noise Margin is one of them, but it is worth a try. If it works you will find it in the Tools tab.

      It looks like the DG934G is fully supported, so you should be OK. It is a very useful tool.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION