Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Anything wrong with these stats?

    This is a discussion on Anything wrong with these stats? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok, I've been with BT (line) since forever and getting Sky BB with no problems - getting around 6Mb/s. Now ...

    1. #1
      Incident35's Avatar
      Incident35 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Budeaux
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anything wrong with these stats?

      Ok, I've been with BT (line) since forever and getting Sky BB with no problems - getting around 6Mb/s. Now since going fully to sky (ULL) I've had problems - thinking now it wasn't a good idea.

      Problem: First week after the change was fine - getting same speed (down) as before (up was a little faster at just over 1Mb/s). But since that first week I've been getting dropped connections slow sync speed (down) ~ 3Mb/s and the noise margin won't stay put either going from around 11db down to around 7db.
      I have been getting a more stable connection, but nothing close to what I used to get in speed.

      Current stats (taken at time of post):

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3616 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.9 db 16.0 db


      And yes this is taken from the test socket

      I've contacted Sky and the they have sent an engineer around to test my line - he said it was fine. The tech guys at Sky (assume tier 3 - as I was transferred) said my line can hold ~ 4Mb/s, but how can they say that when I was getting ~ 6Mb/s?

      Shed any light to my problem, or I'm I stuck with it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Anything wrong with these stats?

      Chances are you're stuck with it...the full move to Sky's SVBN means there's likely to be more cable in the exchange so it in affect adds length to the line...you're already on gdmt so don't think there's a lot that can be done
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Anything wrong with these stats?

      I cannot understand how they would add enough cable to affect the speed that much, there must be another reason why SVBN does this to some lines.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Anything wrong with these stats?

      there must be another reason why SVBN does this to some lines.
      I am beginning to think they have bought their equipment second hand from Darfur

      I too doubt if this could be caused by 'more cable', this would be reflected in the attenuation, which it is not. The change of the chipset in the equipment could account for some of it, but not as much as we are seeing in the posts in the forum. Either the equipment has been set up wrongly or it is simply inferior equipment. I bless the day I decided not to take Sky phone rental

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Anything wrong with these stats?

      There was talk that, in some exchanges, the BT gear was on the bottom floor where the cable comes in and they Sky gear being 3/4 floors up in an exchange leading a lot more chance for degredation/interference - hence my statement above. Whether it's true or not I don't know but it would go some way to explain the issues...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Incident35's Avatar
      Incident35 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Budeaux
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anything wrong with these stats?



      A bit freaky but exactly 2Mb/s slower and they still say my line can only handle 4Mb/s

      New stats (time of posting). As I said - they won't stay put.
      Strange that my noise margin is better now (19:00) than around 2 am

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.6 db 16.0 db


      EDIT: Nothing to do with a change in the firmware of the router? As it was upgraded around the same time the probelms started.
      Now 1.9 Sky
      Last edited by Incident35; 08-03-10 at 08:47 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION