Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    High Noise Margin

    This is a discussion on High Noise Margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; wow, thats the first 1.3Mbps upstream I've seen - dunno whats going on with the downstream though EDIT: Just had ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      wow, thats the first 1.3Mbps upstream I've seen - dunno whats going on with the downstream though

      EDIT: Just had a thought, that's on gdmt as 1024 x 9 = 9216 and only gdmt displays exactly as set
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      The upstream likewise 1312/32 = 41.

      Looks like someone has made a right pig's ear of it. Call Sky and they should get it sorted out for you. They may want to run DLM, if you get the choice ask them to do it manually. You should get pretty near 20Mb down, but your upload will decrease slightly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      PeterDuckett's Avatar
      PeterDuckett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      Whats G.DMT Wrong question i mean how do i move accross

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      GDMT is used for connection below 8Mbps (normally). You need to call CST and have them change you to adsl2+
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      You are not using your own router are you? Having the wrong mode set in the router could force G.DMT If you have a Sky router it will be set correct and the mistake is at Sky's end.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      PeterDuckett's Avatar
      PeterDuckett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      Nope complete Sky set up! is their a direct line to the CST team or do i have to play the tier 1 ,2 ,3 support!

      Why would they put me on G.DMT if the line was probably good enough for ADSL2+ has DLM failed me?

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      There is only Tier 1 then CST. You have to go through Tier 1 unfortunately.

      As to why it has been done, that is anyone's guess, but someone has messed up. If they automatically put those with an attenuation over 50 dbs on G.DMT they would have fewer complaints, but they wont do it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION