Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26

    How long between letters (oh and no router)

    This is a discussion on How long between letters (oh and no router) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hmm - so unfortuantely, definite sky-lie situation, sadly. Because I've not even received my second letter, yet Sky tell me ...

    1. #21
      reech's Avatar
      reech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hmm - so unfortuantely, definite sky-lie situation, sadly. Because I've not even received my second letter, yet Sky tell me that on their systems BT have agreed to activate me on 3rd October.

      This may have caused the problem then - because sky haven't sent the second letter, I've got no router.

      I'm dreading Tuesday; if I'm without an internet connection my partner will kill me, and it's too late to cancel now


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I don't know if its a sky-lie as you put it and the router could still show up on time all you can really do is hope it does as for the letters a lot of people seem to be getting them more or less at the same time.

      But you would be advised to seek out a dial-up account as a temporary measure just in case providing you have a modem that is.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #23
      reech's Avatar
      reech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Fraid not - no internal modem. And that wouldn't be too good at streaming radio.

      I think the thing that is most frustrating is the no consignment number for the parcel; every other order I've had with a provider (even for my Sky Digital upgraded box!) had a tracking number, so I'm jsut surprised they can't provide one - which is why I've got to think that it won't turn up

    5. #24
      ToadyB's Avatar
      ToadyB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brentwood
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Brentwood
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Good idea about the backup dial-up service.

      I use Justdial as my emergency dial-up, been using them about three years. Very simple as the name suggests, and works from anywhere in the UK with no registration required.
      There are a fair few companies offering "pay as you go" dial-up, a quick google revealed half a dozen, offering the same 0845 type deal as Justdial. I think BT used to offer the service, not sure if they still do.

    6. #25
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep I always have one for backup just incase

      @reech

      As I have said before SkyBB don't send the router out they send the orders to a company in Rugby who do it so I guess thats where there problems come from as for the Sky Digital boxed I have never had one sent they are always brought and installed by there engineers or at least thats always been my experience.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #26
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      @reech

      At least you got given a date, the woman on the phone wouldn't even confirm that for me so I like you am left in limbo.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION