Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    How long between letters (oh and no router)

    This is a discussion on How long between letters (oh and no router) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks Wheelie. In fairness to Pipex I've had a great service from them but they couldn't even get close to ...

    1. #11
      ToadyB's Avatar
      ToadyB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brentwood
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Brentwood
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks Wheelie. In fairness to Pipex I've had a great service from them but they couldn't even get close to the Sky subscription rate and took over two weeks to confirm I hadn't committed to a 12 month contract earlier this year.

      I'm used to setting up Draytek routers at work, so the Netgear seems a bit basic. Still I'm not complaining as my old Linksys is playing up and I don't want to fork out 165 for a Draytek 2800...

      Here's hoping when I return from work on Tuesday I'll have a cracking 8Mb connection.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep the Netgear's are easy to work with I just hope you are lucky and don't get one that plays up as there have been a lot of post about that though mine hasn't been a problem.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #13
      rbentley's Avatar
      rbentley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      120
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I signed up on the 21st and apart from the initial thank you letter, have heard nothing.

      There's not even anything on the bt order tracker website

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I would call SkyBB and finde out whats going on in that case.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      I just phoned Sky up to see what was happening and she was of no help at all, actually it sounded as if she was a bit fed up with being asked these questions. All she kept saying was that once BT have told Sky a date for my line to be activated they will then send of the router and of course the second letter. I can't say I am impressed at all but at this moment in time there is very little I can do but wait. I have a nasty feeling that my line is going to be activated before I get the router.

    7. #16
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes thats true mate, you know what cracks me up with BT created Openreach to solve all these problems and its still really just as bad as BTW ever were
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #17
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      I can understand if there are delays and stuff but in this day an age there really isn't any excuse for the lack of information from either BT or Sky. Checking on BT.com shows my order is progressing as the last update was yesterday so I hate to think what is going to happen on Monday unless by chance my router does actually show up.

    9. #18
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep tell me about it mind still says
      Last update 29 Sep 2006
      Latest update Your order is in progress.

      Items in this order
      Description Item Quantity Cost Rental
      PROVIDE LLU LINE SHARE PSTN 1 0.0 0.0
      and I have been on SkyBB since the 12th Sept so in my opinion BT are not informing SkyBB and even though they keep updating my order page it seems they are incapable of sorting my order status out or for that matter even informing SkyBB as Sky still have that same info on there system though they do know I am connected.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #19
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      At least you got your router

    11. #20
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Oh yes that showed up rather quickly I think it was 3 or 4 days after I ordered SkyBB
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION