Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Suddenly can't connect wirelessly to router...!

    This is a discussion on Suddenly can't connect wirelessly to router...! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, my warranty is due to expire on my kit and I can't help thinking that sky have sent ...

    1. #1
      Charleh's Avatar
      Charleh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Suddenly can't connect wirelessly to router...!

      Hi all, my warranty is due to expire on my kit and I can't help thinking that sky have sent some killswitch codes down the wire to wreck all my kit because I don't want to extend my warranty!

      Suddenly my sky box is playing up lately and my router just refuses to allow anything to connect wirelessly!

      I've tried turning it off and on again, resetting to factory settings, turning off any encryption etc etc

      I can connect fine via ethernet but nothing will connect wirelessly. All wireless devices can see the SSID and get excellent signal strength, but when trying to connect they just sit there for hours with the 'connecting to wireless network' box on screen.

      I was using the thing not 10 minutes before it did this... then it dropped the connection and when the router came back up I got this problem - could this be a remote firmware upgrade that's buggered my wireless?

      Firmware reports '1.9Sky'...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Suddenly can't connect wirelessly to router...!

      If it's 1.9 firmware then it'll be the sagem you have. Make sure your channel is not on auto; if it is, change it to something else but auto and that should sort it.

    4. #3
      Charleh's Avatar
      Charleh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly can't connect wirelessly to router...!

      Nice one, that's sorted it - wonder why it suddenly stopped working though....?! I'm 100% certain that noone messed with any of the settings (as it's passworded, only I know the password and I'm the only tech head in the household!)

      Thanks anyway!

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Suddenly can't connect wirelessly to router...!

      Perhaps a random reset occurred or a firmware upgrade, resetting it back to factory settings i.e. channel on auto. Glad it's sorted anyway!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Suddenly can't connect wirelessly to router...!

      It is possible a neighbour has started using a wireless network which interfered with yours. This is very common. Download Inssider from the link below and use it to discover the networks in your area. Set your channel to one as far from those in use as possible.

      If you do not have old 'b' devices set the Mode to 54g Performance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION