Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    max delay

    This is a discussion on max delay within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i had my max delay changed to 8 a month or two ago but in the last day sky changed ...

    1. #1
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      max delay

      i had my max delay changed to 8 a month or two ago but in the last day sky changed my bb package to 20MB unlimated because i went over the usage cap.

      is my max delay still set to 8 or has it been set back to default?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: max delay

      it should still be at 8 unless you have been put on DLM then that might change it

    4. #3
      imdag2's Avatar
      imdag2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNUPK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: max delay

      it should still be 8 but you can call them up and make sure, dont hurt to see. i know its a hassle to call but if your a gamer its worth it

      FTTC Connection: download:40,000. upload:10,000. 5ms ping
      ADSL Speed:
      Connection Speed 18013 kbps 1087 kbps 16db 7db attenuation7db 7db noise
      Download: 15351 Kbit/s
      Upload : 957 kbit/s
      Connects : 2891 conn/min Ping: 19 ms

    5. #4
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: max delay

      thanks for the replies

    6. #5
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: max delay

      i'm pretty sure my max delay has been reset.

      i've been having connection problems over the laster week or so.

      emailed sky, they reconfigured my line to a slower speed.

      the ping on pingtest.net was 38-40db but now it's 73-80db!

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: max delay

      Pingtest.net is about as reliable as speedtest.net. Do a ping from the cmd prompt.

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: max delay

      Quote Originally Posted by smiley rulez View Post
      i'm pretty sure my max delay has been reset.

      i've been having connection problems over the laster week or so.

      emailed sky, they reconfigured my line to a slower speed.

      the ping on pingtest.net was 38-40db but now it's 73-80db!
      If sky have capped the line for stability, then the max delays have probably been put to 32ms/32ms. Best to call and check.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION